Back at it

This week I seem to have finally gotten back in my groove.  Routine is finally coming back to me.  I am balancing everything just fine.  

Well except the fact that today was an optional holiday and I worked 5 hours.  I should have worked 0 hours.  I haven’t had a day off I didn’t get from working extra hours since Florida in early July.  That seems like YEARS ago.  I was told today I was a work-a-holic.  I don’t think that’s it.  It’s my personality and ethic.  I’ve probably been putting more effort into a few things than I should. I have a really bad habit of working really hard on things that are past help.

Speaking of things that are past help, I’ve been struggling with a few decisions I made to be the bigger person.  I hate conflict and pain for anyone, including myself.  I see now that my trying to avoid certain things has screwed me over once again. There is regret.  I hate regret.  I can’t change the past, but I would do it differently if I could do it over.

Another thing I need to work on is getting my running back post hip issues.  I have a relay race in a little over a week and I am no where close to being ready.  I did place in two races in June, but a lot has happened since then.  My relay team is competitive.  I wasn’t ready last year, because of obvious stress and life reasons last year (race was earlier in years past), but i still pulled out a fast time.  The year before I had a “road kill” on a girl who was on my high school’s state track team, which was super exciting for me.  I don’t want to be the slowest one but then again, 9 days is too late to really do anything beneficial other than just running.  

Around the corner, I am planning to make a trip to see some of my friends I haven’t seen much in the last year.  I have regret that I haven’t seen them enough.  I do have a LOT of work trips in October, November, and June.  I really plan on making the most out of those and maybe adding some extra fun days on to them.  I am blessed to have such good friends.  I need to find more time for them.   

Leave a Reply

