Obstacles

So I ran a 5K on Saturday.  My first in over a year.  That should count for something, right?  IMG_2439[1]It was very warm and humid.  I wasn’t ready.  I still have horrible breathing problems.  After 1/2 mile I wanted to quit.  Seriously.

I didn’t.  I ran the whole thing except the 2 water stops, where I paused to drink and catch my breath.

It felt horrible.  I knew I wouldn’t have a stellar time but I wasn’t prepared for the attitude I had toward my finish.

I was disappointed.  It was my slowest 5K since 2007.  I am bigger.  Not in as good of shape.  And I still can’t figure out my breathing issues.  These are all things I’ve not had to deal with in the last 7 years.

I got a 2nd place medal for my age group.   I should have been happy, instead I was in the “2nd place is the first loser camp.”  In my current shape there is no way I could have caught the 1st place gal, it wasn’t even close.  And yes, there was more than 2 people 😉

ODB said he was proud of me.  I’m actually glad he wasn’t there.   It wasn’t one of my proudest moments.  Looking back, I am proud of how I did, even though it wasn’t my best.  It was the best I could do that day in my current state.

It’s hard to accept when you’ve fallen from glory.  Even harder to figure out how to get back there.

Leave a Reply

