SXSW fails and wins

Fails

  • We were 5 people short of getting into Kimmel Live on Friday to see Lil Wayne and Willie Nelson
  • We were so tired from standing in line all day in the sun, that all 3 of us almost fell asleep at dinner
  • We didn’t get downtown for Rachael Ray early enough
  • It rained and rained and rained Saturday morning in line for Rachael’s Party
  • I dropped my drivers license on 9th street.  Thank goodness the dude yelled for me and I ran half a block back to get it.
  • I had a realization that some of my old crowd is just that.  I’ve been cut out I guess
  • The show I wanted to go to on Thursday was actually the day before

Wins

  • People watching is ALWAYS a win during SXSW
  • I did at least see Kimmel once and had a guaranteed seat and a good one at that
  • Parking.  We easily found parking both Friday and Saturday.  Shocking
  • We had a nice lunch at Hula Hut on Friday afternoon away from the downtown crowds.
  • My old intern DID get in line for Rachael Ray early enough and we were able to get in line with her
  • The RRFeedback food was delish.  Free food, booze, and music.  How can you go wrong?
  • Coffee before RR Feedback was a great idea.  Until there was no bathroom for 3 hours
  • $1 panchos from my running stash were lifesavers Saturday morning
  • Traffic wasn’t that bad when I’ve needed to come and go from downtown
  • My schedule was very different than it had been in years past and I was completely content.  I saw far less music but far more variety of talent and shows.
Leave a Reply

