Running Rogue

Headed to downtown East Austin for the Adios East Side celebration for Rogue running store.  They are moving to the heart of downtown west of IH35 to a bigger space Feb 1.

They kicked off the day with runs leaving at 6 and 7 am.   Met several friends down there for the event.  HUGE turnout.  I knocked out a great 8 miles, which is the longest i’ve run in over a month.  I thought about 10 but I didn’t want to push it.  I have a race next weekend that I will be participating in, but certainly not racing.  I’ve been registered since last May, which was wishful thinking on my part, since I was barely back to running then.

We stuck around for the party for a bit, then a trip to Trader Joe’s, and then back North.  It was a productive yet exhausting day of errands after that.

My mom is visiting, so her and I got a Netflix movie and settled in for the evening.  I went to get up to put my dinner plate in the dishwasher and I totally crushed my foot in my sister’s futon.  There was a bar holding the cushion on and I was sitting on my foot.  When I leaned forward to get up, the whole side of my left foot was smashed by the bar.  There was a crunch.  Hopefully it was bone pushing muscle against metal.  Anyhow, I have a swollen and sore foot.  It’s been iced off and on since it happened.

Hopefully this is just a bruise and nothing serious.  I was getting my hopes up about having a better race than Shiner next weekend!

Leave a Reply

