Race Report: Jalapeno Half

Pre-race:  I wish I could say this went well.  They gave me a 5K number at packet pickup and I didn’t know it until race morning.  I realized as we were walking  the 1.5 miles to the start that everyone else had yellow bibs.  UGH 😦  I was able to get a new bib, but it was unexpected stress and it was cutting it close to the expected start.  My mom and sister did the 5K which started after the half.IMG_0810[1]

The race started late, but I heard the RD was in an accident and that’s understandable.  But that also meant 45 minutes hotter.

Course:  The start was congested and tight.  It was like running in a cattle chute for at least a mile, but then again, that’s most races.  I didn’t start where I should have.  Then again, I had no expectations.  There was nothing I like about the course except maybe the first and last mile, which had trees and was in the park.  The rest of the race was on the concrete along the Trinity River.  Not even scenic parts, i’m talking dead grass and industrial.  It was like running through a wasteland.

Refreshment:  Water and sports drink at 4 stations, so you got 8 chances.  I drank at all of them.  At some of them, I had both, which I don’t usually do.  It was so dang hot!

Post Race: bagels,Nutrigrain bars, Propel drink, breakfast tacos from Taco Cabana, Zico coconut water, bananas and Monster energy drinks.  I downed a coconut water, and ate half a banana, it was all I could have from the choices.

There were about 10 baby pools of ice that were being used to soak feet, to help people cool.  I eventually put my whole self in.  I think it helped with bringing my heat down for sure.   Once I got my legs in, it was worse than any marathon-training ice bath i’d ever had as far as tolerance.  IMG_0813[1]

For entertainment they had a jalapeno eating contest and a costume contest.  I got 5th in costume, which put me out of the money. I had a green top, green tutu, and green knee socks that we sewed little sombrero pom-poms on.  I ran in mine, a few of the winners didn’t run in theirs, which was slightly annoying to me.  At least I can recycle my tutu for Christmas.

This was my first summer race ever and my first race since November.  I had no expectations or any idea just how hard this was going to be.  First I just wanted to not walk.  At one point, I just wanted to finish, which I did, but after mile 9, I was falling apart.  I started getting goose-bumps which is BAD NEWS!  Even though I was taking in both hydration options, it wasn’t enough.  I stopped to walk at least one minute in miles 9, 10, 11, and 12.  My final time was my 2nd slowest time ever, which I have no issue with.  It was just under 2:03 which I guess was pretty good considering how hot it was and my 4-5 minutes of walking.

Leave a Reply

