Fun facts Friday-How I got to Austin

I’ve only ever lived in 3 areas and all in Texas.  San Antonio, Corpus Christi, and Austin.

The week after I graduated from TAMUCC in May 2004, I had a job interview for a consultant job in the galleria area of Houston.  Unfortunately I was the runner up for the job.  I had no experience and that hurt me.  In hindsight, I am not sure that was the right job for me, long  hours in the sun, crappy hours, etc.  But the money was good.

I didn’t have another interview until September.  Between June and September I worked full time at Kohl’s.  I HATED it.  I liked the discount though.

I interviewed for a job with the state in September, accepted the offer on September 22, which was my sister’s birthday.  The hardest part was telling her and my best friend I was moving away.  They still had a couple years left in college.

And the rest is history.  I moved the next week and started my job on October 4.  Later this year marks NINE years.

Gosh, where does the time go?

I love the Austin area and i’d have a heck of a time if I had to leave now 🙂

2 thoughts on “Fun facts Friday-How I got to Austin

Leave a Reply

