Recipe review: Chorizo stuffed peppers

Sprouts had peppers on sale on Sunday, so I decided it was time for stuffed peppers!  Just a little something I threw together as I was making it.

First, I made my own chorizo.  Savory Spice shop chorizo seasoning.  You add it to whatever type of ground meat you want, add vinegar (I use apple cider) and water and mix, then chill for a few hours or longer.  The directions are on the side of the package.  I like this seasoning so much, I have a big bottle of it.

Chorizo Stuffed Bell Peppers

-1 lb of chorizo-cooked (whatever kind you like, they make vegetarian versions too)

-1 cup of rice-cooked (I made a pan of Alton Brown’s Brown Rice)

-2 cups of cooked mixed veggies (I used HEB stirfry blend which has peppers, broccoli, carrots, etc)

-4 large bell peppers, tops sliced off

-shredded cheese (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Pull the tops off of the bell peppers and remove the seeds.  You can either cut up the tops (minus the stem) and throw in the mixture, or toss them in trash.  Put the 4 bell pepper bottoms in a pot of boiling water and boil 4-5 minutes.   Remove from the water and dry them off.

In a skillet combine the mixed veggies, rice, and meat/meat sub and heat until warm.  Then stuff each pepper with the mixture.before bell pepper

Place in a greased 8×8 pan and bake covered with foil, for 20 minutes.  Remove foil, top with cheese if desired and broil until melted and bubbly.finish peppers

Dan LOVED these.  Good.  Because we are having them as leftovers tonight.  It’s LUNA run night and we always have leftovers on Tuesdays, because I don’t have time to cook.  I am already doing well not to gnaw my arm off before I get home at 8 pm.

Leave a Reply

