Things I like Thursday: SXSW time again

Tuesday night Dan and I went to our first showcase of SXSW.  I have never started that early in the week.  This kid doesn’t play late on school nights anymore.  This time of year is an exception.

We hit up the Red11 Showcase at the White Horse.  6 bands, $5 (free if you bought a wristband for SXSW).  We’ve never bought bands, you can get by without one for many shows.

Dinner.  Bomb Tacos food truck at the White Horse.  There are many locations of Bomb Tacos but this one is supposedly the best.  Yes, they were the bomb.  I had chicken fajita, veggie, and pulled pork.  Dan had 2 chicken fajita and beef fajita.  They were indeed good.  They offer flour and corn tortillas.  I got mine on corn, but Dan ate the actual tortillas, because I was pretty sure they weren’t gluten free.  So I guess I really had 3 small taco salads.  I am sure I could have ordered that.  Impressed.  I liked the chicken fajita the best, as did Dan.  The also offer nachos and quesadillas.

The show.  Lincoln Durham, The Crooks, Dirty River Boys, Turnpike Troubadours, American Aquarium, and Jason Eady.  We stayed for the first 5.  I didn’t know it was inside.  I wore a sweater and jeans.  I was SO hot.  I am never hot.  Plus it was SUPER crowded in the bar.  I actually, during the last act, bought a band tshirt to change into.  Of course, when we went to leave, I was cold again and put the sweater back on.  Whatever, I really wanted a Dirty River Boys shirt anyhow.

Apparently there are a ton of tall people in town.  I was close for Dirty River, but I couldn’t see much at all.  Doesn’t help that most of the guys in the band are also short!  I have seen them several times, my first was at SXSW last year.  LOVE them.

photo 6

My first time seeing the Crooks.  They had a lot of instruments in their set. 4 different types of guitars, banjo, maracas, tambourine, drums, accordion, trumpet, and some other percussion thing I don’t know the name of.  I LOVE accordions!  They were fun.  I think i’d like them live more than on the radio.

photo 3

My 2nd time seeing American Aquarium.  Last year’s SXSW was my first.  Dan LOVES them.   That’s why we were so close, he’s a total man-fan.

13

Turnpike Troubadours.  Really like them, but I haven’t seen them much.  Good stuff.

9

I got 3 hours of sleep that night, but it was totally worth it 🙂  Now looking ahead to see what, if any, other shows I’ll do this year.  So far, I have been working so much, that I’ve had 0 time to study.  Chronicle is being scoured over now.

Leave a Reply

