Recipe review-sweet potato breakfast casserole

Recipe inspired by Cavegirl Cuisine

1 lb bulk breakfast sausage (I used homemade italian)
1 onion, chopped
2T butter, organic and unsalted or coconut oil
1 large sweet potato, peeled and grated (I sliced really thin)
1 parsnip, peeled and grated (skipped this didn’t have one)
6 eggs
1 cup spinach (I added a bag of asparagus stir fry)
8 oz organic whipping cream
1T arrowroot

In a medium skillet, cook the sausage until fully browned.

Preheat oven to 350°.

In a bowl, mix grated parsnip and sweet pototoes until evenly distributed.

In a greased 8.5 x 11 baking dish, start layering your ingredients.
Layer 1: Half of sweet potato mixture.
Layer 2: All of spinach.
Layer 3: All of sausage.
Layer 4: Remaining sweet potato mixture.

In same skillet, cook onion until translucent. Add butter and arrowroot. Stir. Once butter is melted, add cream. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for a couple of minutes to slightly thicken.

Crack eggs in a bowl. Whisk. Add 1-2 ladles of cream mixture to eggs to temper the eggs (so as to not create scrambled eggs). Pour eggs mixture back into the skillet and stir.

Pour skillet mixture over the top of the layers in your baking dish. Press to edges so it will form a seal when cooking.

Bake for 30 minutes. Remove from oven and let rest for about 30 minutes to allow the dish to set.

Enjoy!photo 1

*I cut into 6 slices, so I had a piece for Sunday lunch and the rest will be for breakfast for the workweek.  TASTY!photo 2

Next time I will add more sweet potatoes and veggies.  I didn’t feel like grating the sweet potato, so I used the mandoline to slice thin and then baked them while I was prepping the rest (to soften them up a bit before putting everything together).    If I added more veggies, I think it would have made 6 nicer size portions.  They were only about a cup each as I made them.

Could make this vegetarian by skipping the sausage or using crumbles.

One thought on “Recipe review-sweet potato breakfast casserole

  1. Amanda says:

    This sounds really good. I’ve never made a breakfast casserole but my boyfriend and I love sweet potato, so I think I’ll make this.

Leave a Reply

