Bigger granny pill box

I’ve been so busy lately with work and last weekend’s trip to San Antonio and San Marcos, I haven’t had much time for anything.  I’ve been trying to get extra sleep like I was told, but that certainly didn’t happen this weekend and it’s been hard this week.  I already feel like I only work and sleep with 7-8 hours a night!  I am supposed to be working on 8-10 hours a night.  This is especially hard when I wake up 3-4 times a night.

Went to the Dr. today.  Saw the nurse practitioner, which was good, because it’s the one I actually like 🙂  I’d originally become upset when I found out I couldn’t see the Dr, but this lady I like, so we were good.  She’s a pretty smart cookie, so I don’t mind seeing her.  The other nurse, I do not like AT ALL.

I’ve known for almost a month now that I have adrenal fatigue.  I cut all working out except walking and yoga at the beginning of the month.  I’d just been waiting to talk to someone specifically about the results.

Today she expanded on my test results and what they mean.  Yes, I have adrenal fatigue.  My seratonin, GABA, and epinephrine are all low.  My DHEA is low even though I take DHEA.  I was told this is because my body is likely robbing DHEA because of cortisol issues.

My histamines are high.  From my report: Histamine value is on a high end especially with Vitamin C on board. Vitamin C blocks histamine excretion from mast cells. GI distress is most likely playing a role in your histamine level and the very low synthesis of serotonin since most of it is manufactured in the GI tract.

Everything she said made sense.  My body isn’t using and/or producing hormones like it should.  So I have to fix that.  I have to supplement what my body isn’t converting, not with more hormones (although I have some that I am already on), but with more supplements.photo

I now have a load of pills I have to take everyday.  I told her I wanted to get off of stuff and not be on pills forever (well except thyroid, that’s pretty much forever).  She said 6 months on the supplements and when those hopefully balance my other hormones, we can start backing off of most everything.  Gosh I hope so!  I need a bigger granny pillbox and a schedule, because now I have way too many pills and times to take things.  I went from everything in AM and 1 thing at night, to more stuff in AM, 1 at lunch, and more night stuff.  SHEESH!  I HATE HATE HATE medication and I never take anything unless I have to, so all of these pills are making me nuts.

Activity.  Well I got a pat on the back for walking and yoga (and for sticking to it).  She told me I could do really tiny Galloway stints.  I think I am going to stick to walking and yoga for at least another week, to give my body more rest.  I want to run, but I want to be better more.

Hoping I start healing and feeling better.  I feel ok, but I so very much want to feel and look like the old me!

3 thoughts on “Bigger granny pill box

    • Galloway is a run-walking method of using intervals. Dr said I could do a short workout using that method to try to run a little.

      My mom does all of her running using that method.

      • Thank you for that explanation. I had googled “Galloway stint” before asking and figured maybe it was just something local to where you live, but now I see more info when I look up “Galloway run”.

        It sounds wonderful to me. Dreamy even. I can barely walk anymore, so bad is my adrenal burnout. This is the second time I’ve been through this in the past decade, and I made a full recovery with the guidance of my naturopath in 2005, so I am hopeful that I will again be strong. Right now, it seems so far off, but I continue to dream. 🙂

Leave a Reply

