Recipe review: Whino Chicken

Ok, here’s where you look at me and say, “she’s off her rocker”.

I may not read alot of books, but I read a ton of medical and health blogs, journals, etc.  Recently I’ve been looking at the health benefits of organ meats, yes, you read that correctly.  They are a muscle and very nutritionally dense.

So I bought some chicken hearts at the store.  Yes, they looked gross and it freaked me the hell out.

Went home and scoured the internet for ideas.  Most people apparently fry or sautee.  I opted for sautee, with a hybrid of several recipes.

Whino chicken hearts

  • 1 pound chicken hearts, split, rinsed, and cleaned 
  • 2 T fresh chopped garlic
  • 1 T parsley
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce or Bragg’s Liquid Aminos
  • 1/4 cup red wine
  • sliced mushrooms

I combined everything but mushrooms in a container and marinated for 3 hours.  Then sauteed until done with mushrooms in EVOO.

Image

It tastes like chicken, but has the texture of a mushroom.  Because I knew Dan hates the texture of mushrooms, I opted not to even try to get him to eat them.    I actually couldn’t tell mushrooms and heart apart very well looking at the dish.

I served over spinach and broccoli Normandy.Image

They were good, I am not sure it’s something I would crave, but I would eat it again.  I am interested to see what else is good, I hear beef heart is really good and versatile.

One thought on “Recipe review: Whino Chicken

Leave a Reply

