Christmas Recap

A little shopping.  Not really for gifts, just because I felt like it (weird, I am not really a shopper for no reason).  I went to Bass Pro AND Cabela’s (2x) in one week.  I did pick up some fun spice packets and a gun cleaning kit for dad.  One of these days I will actually look around the whole store at both places.  Christmas isn’t really the best time to leisurely explore a mega-store.   The decor alone is enough to take half a day to look at!IMG_0002

A little cooking.  Ok, a lot of cooking.  I love to cook for my parents.  Unfortunately, braising liquid from some ribs poured down my arm and gave me a really big and severe burn on Sunday afternoon. It’s really big and ugly 😦  I sent Dan and my BFF actual photos.  I will spare you that.  Neither of them were amused.

Like my Astros pjs? (I am blocking the star on accident)  Dan bought me those a long time ago in the Houston airport on a trip home to see me.  Back then the Astros weren’t near as bad.  Eh, I still love the pj’s and my baseball.IMG_0015

A little time in the country.  You know, looking for pregnant cows for 2 hours with your dad, hunting, and making sausage.  Simple country folk things.  My parents don’t even live in the country, but it’s pretty darn close to their house.

Tamales.  It’s whats for Christmas Eve dinner…always.  I used to think it was a south Texas thing, but my friend Alison pointed out it’s a Tex-Mex influence thing (she’s from El Paso and they do tamales and chalupas).  So it’s a regional thing I guess. Mom buys hers from Central Market, gluten and lard free.  I’m weird and this year I crumbled mine over blue corn chips and ate them like nachos with queso and guacamole.  Dang I wish I had a Central Market closer to me.IMG_0016

Gift pelicans.  Why?  Because my parents are trying to sell their house and I told my mom not to bother with a tree this year.  Instead I decided they needed to be around the pelican in their nautical themed living room.  Hence the gift pelican.IMG_0014

If you listen to Adam Corolla podcast, the pelican thing is even funnier.  Yes, a few months ago Dan got me hooked on his man-crush, Adam Corolla, and now I am addicted.  I LOVE him.  I hope he comes to Texas again soon, because I’d love to see him live.  I loved him on Loveline and the Man Show, but his podcast is awesome.  It’s definitely not for everyone, but most days I swear he takes thoughts straight from my head.

Santa brought my mom a Garmin 405.  She wasn’t all that excited because it’s complicated for her compared to her current 301.  I just about have her convinced to just get an iphone and use RunKeeper or something similar.  Now trying to get dad to shell out money for 2 smart phones and data plans, lol!  They are both anti-smart phones and texting.  I’m thinking I see a conversion in the spring 😉

Spent hours on Christmas day trying to teach my mom how to use an itouch.  If you’ve never met my mom, she has talons for fingernails.  This does not bode well for itouch.  This may be the deal breaker on an iphone for her.  No matter how she tried to tap the screen, she kept having issues.

Christmas night was spent curled up in my chair with Missy next to the Christmas tree, listening to the windstorm outside and watching crap tv.  Savoring the time off before having to go back to work 🙂

Leave a Reply

