Green chile sauce

Behold!  Green Chile sauce.  I made this Sunday night to put on cheese burgers and on Monday, I put on refried beans.  SO good.  Very happy I had Hatch Green Chile’s that i’d roasted and put away in the freezer.

This was just like the sauce at Shady Grove and Chuy’s, which explains my reaction to their sauce because of the flour used to thicken it.

GREEN CHILE SAUCE
2 tbsp. vegetable oil  (I used 1 T canola)
1 tbsp. flour (I used GF flour blend)
1 c. water (I used broth)
1/4 tsp. salt
1 clove garlic
2 tbsp. onion, minced
1 c. diced green chili
Saute garlic and onion in oil until tender. Blend in flour and stir until lightly browned. Add water, salt, and chili and simmer for 5 min

*The result was AWESOME!  I may have to make some big batches of this and can or freeze.  It was so good, that other than in the beans I made last night, there is none left!

Dan loved it on the burgers.  When the sauce mixed with the cheese, it made a spicy queso that oozed everywhere, which he ate on chips 🙂   I took pictures, but I have no idea where they went!

2 thoughts on “Green chile sauce

  1. Juli Moore says:

    This is a great recipe. Me and the husband tried it and it was good! Quick tip: I would try using fresh green chile when ever possible. We’ve tried canned chile and it had different taste to it. Since we moved we’ve been having trouble finding fresh green chile. But last year we ordered fresh Hatch green chile from DiazFarms.com, and couldn’t be happier with the taste.

    Juli

Leave a Reply

