Power of a Word

Loved this from Heather 🙂  It made me laugh that there are so many words that annoy people.  I have my words too that just irritate or annoy the heck out of me…

Here are a few:

  • nom
  • yummers
  • hubster
  • preggers
  • yada-yada-yada
  • negative (instead of saying no)  It’s especially irritating when my sister or her bf say it in a valley-girl type voice
  • boogies, booger, snotties
  • any slang word for women’s body parts

Dan and I actually share a bunch that I can’t even remember off the top of my head. I know on a frequent basis, these words are used on Facebook or Twitter and he’ll rant over them and we’ll laugh.
And then there are those words that I make up or use wrong that irritate Dan. Like calling someone “a ghetto”. Like, “OMG, that girl is such a ghetto, look at those shoes!”. I don’t pull that one out often, unless we are at Walmart or in San Antonio.
I can only imagine the words that I use or make up that must annoy people other than him and they just don’t say anything 😉

3 thoughts on “Power of a Word

  1. I’m with you on the body parts. B@@bs particularly annoys me and I can’t believe that women use a denigrating term to refer to their bodies.
    I’m just going to go out on a limb and say this. The word aMAZEing is really getting more than it’s fair share of play. But I better get over it b/c it’s not going anywhere anytime soon. Fun post!

  2. Lavonne says:

    I’m catching up on your blog! This made me laugh. I especially hate preggers. So annoying! And my team is doing what they’ve named “Ride for Boobies”. I HATE IT! It was done before the leader’s had a say. No one will put the flyer up at work because it says boobies on it!

    Thanks for the smile.

Leave a Reply

