Brain Power 5K

A coworker handed me a flyer last week about this event while we were out for lunch.  The Sunday, I received a message about this race on Facebook with a discount.

Monday I finally got around to reading about the specifics.  Race in Williamson County to benefit brain tumor research.  September 9, 2012.

I have to do this.  I am doing this.

I signed up and formed a team.  The team is NOT in my name, I put it under LUNA.  You can join the team here.  Some of my friends and family have joined the team already.  I encourage everyone to consider joining the team.

I do not and did not ever have brain cancer.  I did go to the MD Anderson Center in Houston for evaluation of my tumor.  If you haven’t kept up with my blog updates, Dr.’s have chosen to leave it alone and monitor it with additional tests in June and September for now.  They don’t deny it’s there, but they are uncertain it needs to be removed at this point.

I want to do this event to help others and raise awareness.  Just with my limited experience with the subject matter, I understand the need for more research and exposure for the problem.

More about the beneficiary:

Brain Power 5K is proud to join the Dr. Marnie Rose Foundation, a 501(c)3 non-profit organization, in their efforts to eradicate brain cancer.

The Brain Power 5K seeks to provide funding to the Dr. Marnie Rose Foundation for brain cancer research at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center as well as pediatric initiatives at Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital. We wish to create an opportunity for Central Texas to honor those affected by brain tumors.

The Dr. Marnie Rose Foundation is the only Houston foundation funding adult brain cancer research at MD Anderson.

3 thoughts on “Brain Power 5K

Leave a Reply

