Recipe Review: Lasagna Soup

This recipe has been starred in my reader since August!  I’ve been trying to be even more careful about new things to try, because Dan is apparently becoming even pickier.  I don’t understand this, because he’s certainly not picky when we go out to eat.  We liked it so much, there aren’t any photos!

This lasagna soup recipe was originally found over at With a Side of Sneakers.

Lasagna Soup

1 large white onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 Tbsp dried oregano
1/2 Tbsp dried basil
2 tsp fennel seeds
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
4 T tomato paste
1 28-oz can fire roasted diced tomatoes (I used 2-15 oz cans)
4 c low sodium vegetable broth (I used HEB brand beef-garlic)
2 c water
1/4 c non dairy cream {optional} (I used coconut milk)
4-8 oz uncooked lasagna noodles, broken into small pieces
large handful of fresh kale, ripped into small pieces (I used spinach)
black pepper
salt to taste
chopped fresh basil leaves for garnish

  • Saute onions in large pan over medium heat until just start to brown.
  • Add garlic and cook for 1 minute.
  • Stir in tomato paste and seasonings {except salt}. Cook for 2 to 3 minutes.
  • Add diced tomatoes, vegetable broth and water. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes.
  • Add uncooked pasta and cook until al dente, about 10 minutes.
  • With just a few minutes remaining, stir in cream and kale. Cook until kale wilts.
  • Season to taste with salt.
  • Serve in large bowls. Garnish with fresh basil.

Dan and I were huge fans of this.

Of course I made modifications.  I used spinach instead of kale, because Dan doesn’t like kale.  I topped his with mozzarella cheese.  I think next time, i’ll do Parmesan instead.

As posted, the recipe is vegetarian, however, I didn’t have veggie broth, so I used some of the new flavored HEB brand broth, which was awesome.  I’ve tried most of the gluten-free varieties.

I cooked everything in 1 pot until I got to the noodle step.  I then transferred half to another pot and added brown rice pasta to that pot.  To the original pot, I added 4 oz of broken lasagna noodles. Because the brown rice pasta takes twice as long to cook, I added it into that pot 10 minutes before I did Dan’s pot, so they’d be done around the same time.

I was pleased how both pots came out and Dan said his was very tasty.  Too bad in the shuffle of pot coordination and brewing tea, I burned Dan’s garlic bread…twice.

Leave a Reply

