Back to the basics…

Let’s go to Luckenbach, Texas…

yeah, you know the song 😉

We headed to Luckenbach on Saturday afternoon in the pouring rain.  To be honest, I wasn’t sure I still wanted to go, but the tickets and hotel had been paid for a month ago.  I was already in a funk from the disappointing Dr’s visit earlier in the week, plus I couldn’t do anything outdoors in the storm on Saturday morning, so I was confined to the adaptive motion at the gym.

We got to town around 4, which was nice so that we could check in at the hotel and chill.  The Stonewall Motel is OLD SCHOOL, but I love it.  It’s simple, clean, and cheap.  It’s a far cry from any other place we ever stay, but I like it.  Don’t know how to describe it, but it’s isolated out in the country with just 2 gas stations and an RV nearby.  I think it would be a good place to escape to in the summer, especially when the peaches are ready for picking (that’s what Stonewall is known for).

They have REAL keys, not key cards

And a VCR (we watched Slingblade before and after we went out)

Luckenbach wasn’t as crowded as it should have been, but it was nice.  They had tables out, which I wasn’t expecting.  The crowd was surprisingly mostly 30 and up.  We had a good table spot but that didn’t last long before it was overrun with drunk wild girls, so we moved over to stand on the side of the stage for Adam and MMC.

Got to see a few friends I don’t get to see often, which is always nice 🙂  A few friends cancelled because of the weather, but I don’t really blame them, it wasn’t a very nice or safe drive in the rain.

It was my first time seeing the Dirty River Boys, who are from El Paso.  Really liked them, tons of energy!

Then Adam Hood, who is always great.

And Micky and the Motorcars.  They’ve always been a favorite of mine.  The only thing that weirds me out is getting used to new band members.  They seem very talented, it’s just different is all.  I felt the same way when Deeb left.

My only complaint was that because i’m a freak, I couldn’t feel my fingers and toes for about four hours!  The rest of me wasn’t really that cold (it was about 40 and raining) and there was heat from a heater and the crowd, plus my North Face jacket (Nicole, yes, I was one of them, not on purpose).  I just can’t regulate my body temperature well at all.  It took me sitting in front of a space heater in the hotel to finally be able to bend my toes again 😦

The time change was heck on me.  We got back to the hotel around 2, watched a little VCR and went to bed.  I of course, got up early like I usually do, but made myself lie in bed.  We eventually got moving, ate breakfast at the diner next door, and drove to south Austin to help our friends move their couch.  Then on to Costco over there (which is 10000 times more tolerable than the North Austin location) and then home for lunch, laundry, gym, and chores.  For dinner, we busted out our grill for the first time this year for pork fajitas and tons of grilled veggies.

A good weekend to say the least.  It may have left me exhausted, but it was totally worth it!

2 thoughts on “Back to the basics…

Leave a Reply

