Things I like Thursday: Pistachios

Believe it or not, prior to this past fall, i’d never had a pistachio.  I’d only had pieces in pudding or other dishes. 

We now keep pistachios in our house for snacking.  Costco has great deals on them for plain or the addictive “salt and pepper” variety.  (pictured above)

Here’s some facts from the February 2012 issue of Muscle and Fitness (which  I buy for Dan and he doesn’t read)…

49:  Number of nuts in a single serving, which is around 160 calories.  More nuts per serving than any other nut.

6:  Grams of protein per serving

3: Grams of fiber per serving

13: Grams of fat, 7 g of which are monounsaturated, 4 are polyunsaturated

20:  Percentage of daily allowance of vitamin B6

5:  approximately Weight Watchers Points Plus value for 49 nut serving

Plus according to the article, 3.5 ounces per day can improve men’s functions down south…

 

One thought on “Things I like Thursday: Pistachios

  1. I love most nuts, but pistachios are one of my lesser faves. I will blame this on eating way too many of them one time – and they were the ones that were dyed red. This was when I was a kid and I have no idea why they were dyed. But I do know I got sick!

Leave a Reply

