Meltdown Monday

Monday was a pretty laid back day.  I slept until 6, when Dan woke up for work.  I got dressed, worked around the house, went to gym, WW, and then to have lunch with Dan and his coworkers.  Yeah, I showed up in my gym clothes with no makeup in Georgetown.  Georgetown is not like Austin, where coming from a workout is completely normal.  I’m sure he was embarrassed.  I made 2 grocery store stops and then home.

When I got home, I roasted some veggies in my crockpot to store for later (I froze half of them).  I filled up my whole 6 quart pot with veggies from the clearance section at Sprouts.

3 bags of broccoli and cauliflower, 1 tray fajita vegetables, 1 package of mushrooms, and then 2 cups of carrots (from my fridge).  Cooked on low with a package of Ranch dressing powder (check brands for gluten) and EVOO for 4 hours.      It reduced the veggies in volume A LOT! 

Three 1.5 cup servings went into containers to mix with eggs for a breakfast option, the rest went into the freezer for another time.

I got into catching up on emails, blogs, work, etc.  Before I knew it, it was 6 pm!

Monday night dinner didn’t go so well.  I made a new recipe for spaghetti and meatballs which I thought was amazing.  It turned into my lashing out at Dan for not eating his dinner.  I should know better, the only spaghetti and meatballs he will eat is his mom’s.  I think as soon as he saw green stuff in the meatballs (fresh parsley) he was done.

What made me more upset, is that i’d already portioned his leftovers out into a container with pasta for him to eat on Tuesday night when he got home from his first day of school.  I ended up having to throw it away, because i’d already contaminated that serving with gluten.  UGH!

Not your typical grandma’s meatballs

Source:  Caveman Strong 

Meatballs:

1 pound of ground beef (I used venison)

1 small onion, grated or very finely chopped

2 tablespoon ground cumin

1 tablespoon paprika

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

3 tablespoon minced fresh parsley

2 tablespoon minced fresh cilantro

1 egg
For the sauce

2 tablespoon olive oil

2 medium onions chopped

4 garlic cloves minced

2 teaspoon of ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

pinch of cayenne

1/2 cup freshed chopped parsley

2 cups of crushed tomatoes (organic, least amount of ingredients)

1 cup of beef broth
Instructions

Meatballs: In a bowl, mix the beef with all ingredients. Roll into 1-inch balls and set aside.

Sauce: #1 Heat olive oil in the bottom of the saute pan. Add onions and cook over medium heat for 8 to 10 mins, until tender and translucent. add the garlic, cumin, pepper, cayenne and parsley and cook for 5 more minutes to blend the flavors. stir in the tomato sauce and beef broth and bring to a simmer.

#2 Brown the meatballs in a pan over high heat with a little oil. Then add to the sauce, cook for 15 mins.

*I really liked these.  I would make this again for myself for lunches or for my parents, which I am sure would like it.  In fact, I forwarded them both the recipe.  My dad recently chose to go Gluten-Free due to a Dr’s urging because of severe inflammatory issues.

Monday’s grub

B1: banana rolled in coconut, Adora disc

WO: short time bike to loosen my legs

L: Thai garlic shrimp (out with Dan and his coworkers).  It was large and delicious and I ate every last bite.  Didn’t eat the soup that came with it, I was sure it was thickened with some sort of flour or starch.


S: apple and raw premium mixed nuts.  The nuts were on sale because they had Christmas packaging at HEB.  Do I care about the package?  No!!!


D: venison meatballs, veggie kabobs, over spaghetti squash, EVOO.
S: little banana and fresh ground PB

I very rarely eat 2 bananas a day, but I wanted something sweet and Dan had just finished off the last of the clementine’s from my parent’s tree 😦

It was a productive day, but it didn’t really end well.  I was still upset about dinner when I went to bed.  I once again suggested to Dan that he needed to start participating in meal planning (which he doesn’t currently do).  He agreed it was a good idea, hopefully this time he will sit down with me and say what he wants 😉  Ugh, boys!

Leave a Reply

