Twas the night before Christmas

The weather outside was frightful.  Or at least it was starting at 7 am.  I woke up about 5:30 tried to get my dad up to go hunting, but he is certainly not a fan of early mornings, so I got dressed to run, but then it was storming.  I read blogs and caught up on emails instead.

When mom and sister woke up, we drove to Hondo to put flowers at my grandma and grandpa’s grave and to take Christmas stuffed animals to the county hospital.  I was glad the 3 of us were able to spend the morning together.

Next thing we knew, it was time to go to church.  We took photos at the square after church was over.  It had stopped raining, but it was 30 degrees and a bit nippy!

Our family does all of our Christmas traditions on Christmas eve.  Church, tamales, gifts, movies.

Our Christmas Eve meal usually consists of veggie tray, dips, queso, tortilla chips, tamales (we had chicken and beef).  This year we also had garlic parmesan Chex mix (off the back of the box), gluten-free too.

The tamales didn’t stand a chance.  They are actually from Central Market, Ramiro Brand.  The company is based out of Houston.  Lard and Gluten Free.  They come in chicken, pork, or beef.  Mom and I found them last year and I love them!

Gift time!

My sister really wanted to try Brooks, so I got her new socks, new shoes, and some other running goodies.  Her Asics were giving her issues, so she got fitted again and opted for 1 of the 2 pairs of Brooks they recommended.

Dad got a game dressing kit from me with a neat sheath to put on your belt, however, of 4 mornings, he rejected my requests to go hunting.  We did go twice in the PM, but the conditions weren’t favorable either evening. Maybe I should have given him his gift earlier, to motivate him to wake up earlier.

We rented Our Idiot Brother and Crazy, Stupid, Love.  I’d already seen the first one, but I watched it anyhow.  I fell asleep as soon as the 2nd movie started.  What can I say?  I woke up 3 hours before my mom and sister and 5 hours before the guys.

Nice day with the family, but I started missing Dan.  We’ve never spent a Christmas together, and it doesn’t bother me for the most part, but I always start missing him when I am sitting alone in church.  I know he only gets to see his family once a year, so it’s a necessary trip for him to make.  Glad he’s able to enjoy the time with them, even if it’s short.

Merry Christmas!  Hope everyone has a joyous holiday with their family and friends!

2 thoughts on “Twas the night before Christmas

Leave a Reply

