Back to the basics

It’s been a hard week.  Work has been hectic, I have a huge project i’m working on.  I can’t even remember half the week, it was that crazy.

Mid-week I got my last test results back for cortisol/Cushing’s diagnosis.  Doctor’s nurse said they were normal and that the Dr. wanted to see me to “chat”.  She also said, let’s just repeat in February.   I get the distinct impression this means she doesn’t know what to do and doesn’t have any additional ideas.  Almost all of my tests came back high, with the exception of this one.  Since i’m out of town for work this week, I couldn’t get an appointment with her until December 22.  I guess at that point i’ll decide if I want to see another type of Doctor.  I’m not just going to sit around for 3 months to repeat those tests.

I’ve been feeling ok.  I had a couple of bad days in the last week, including 2 really sleepless nights.  I took the whole week off from running.  Yes.  A whole week.  I cannot remember the last time I did that.  I still worked out, but no running.  Wanted to see if that would give my adrenals some rest.  Not sure if it did or not.

I took spinning for the first time in 3 years on Saturday.  While I know how to push myself through running, I forgot how hard it is for me to mentally and physically push myself through spin.  I may start adding it back into my routine at least once a week.  I want to see if my sister will take a PM class with me like we used to do.  I’d get to see her regularly again and we’d get a good workout together.

I’m going to try to make some new changes in my life to see if that helps with my health, I know I have much room for improvement mentally and physically.  If it doesn’t help with the medical issues, it certainly can’t hurt to make positive change.

Leave a Reply

