Mexican Food overload

Here’s the only photo of me running on Sunday.  My mom isn’t the best action photographer.  That’s me on the far left, running through the King William historic district of San Antonio.

And a photo of me in the flowers at Paloma Blanca during lunch.  Yeah, I ate Mexican food twice that day.  I’m never hungry after a race, but I knew I had to eat, so other than my post-race banana, I ate a fajita taco off of their celiac menu.

I found my new favorite soup, yes, it’s Mexican too.  Other than the chopping and cubing, it’s an easy recipe that doesn’t take too terribly long to make.  In fact, I made it Sunday night after my dinner date with Dan at Vivo which was followed by an exciting trip to the grocery store.  I actually branched out and tried something new at Vivo, which was a first (I used to always get chile enchiladas), this time I tried their fajitas, which were awesome.

I’m not going to say it’s an attractive looking dish (cell phone photo and office lighting don’t help either), but it’s very flavorful.

Caldo de Pollo (Mexican Chicken Soup)

20 oz chicken thighs cubed
1 small chopped onion
1 bag cabbage slaw
3-4 small  red potatoes, peeled and cubed (optional)
3-4 carrots, peeled and sliced
2 zucchini, diced
4-5 garlic cloves, peeled, smashed, minced
1 (14 1/2 oz.) can stewed tomatoes, undrained or fresh tomatoes, diced
48 oz chicken broth
sea salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
1 TBL cumin
1 TBL chili powder
½ TBL smoked paprika
Crushed red pepper, to taste
White pepper, to taste
Garlic powder, to taste
1 cup rice, cooked (optional)
1 tbsp. fresh cilantro, chopped, stems removed
Lime wedges, avocado slices, to garnish

In a ramekin or small dish, make your spice blend. Start with about ½ – 1 TBL salt and add garlic powder (not garlic salt) and black, red and white peppers to your liking. Add cumin, chili powder and paprika. (adjust to your liking)

Season cubed chicken with a pinch or two of your seasoning blend- as desired.

In a bit of butter or oil, brown and cook chicken over medium heat in a large Dutch oven or stockpot until chicken is tender. Add onions and sauté lightly. Add a touch more fat if needed.

Add cabbage, potatoes (if using), zucchini, carrots, garlic and tomatoes and the remaining seasoning blend from the ramekin. Stir to coat all evenly and cover to sweat the veggies for 10-15 minutes. Stir occasionally to prevent sticking/burning and add a touch of chicken broth if liquid from veggies is not sufficient. You don’t want to add too much or the veggies will boil and not sweat their flavors.

After 10-15 minutes, the veggies will have reduced by about half the volume. Add the remaining chicken broth, stir, add rice (if using), stir and cover and simmer for 30-45 minutes.

Add cilantro during the last couple minutes of cooking. Garnish with a lime wedge and serve with avocado slices if desired.

*This can also be made with leftover chicken or turkey. Just add chicken after sauteeing/sweating veggies

I made this into 6 servings, 3 P+ each.  I skipped the potatoes and rice, but I think next time I make this, I may try one or the other.  Wonder how leftover Thanksgiving turkey would taste in it?

Leave a Reply

