Made with love

Is it weird that when I travel for work and leave Dan at home, that I spend more time and energy making sure he’s taken care of than me? 

He eats out everyday for lunch and sometimes on the weekends too.  I’d so much rather him eat something homecooked and better than he’d get out.

I opted for lasagna.  Not one i’d usually make, but one I knew he’d eat.

Bateman Family Lasagna

1 lb ground beef (I used extra lean)

1 can tomato sauce

1 can tomato paste

1 can diced tomatoes

2 ½ tsp garlic powder

3/4 tsp oregano

Box Lasagna Noodles – only using 8 noodles

4 cups shredded Mozzarella

Brown beef in skillet and drain.  Add all of ingredients except noodles and cheese.  Cover and simmer for 1 hour.  Cook noodles according to directions.  In a 9×13, layer noodles, sauce, cheese then repeat (only making 2 layers). Bake at 350 degrees uncovered for 15 minutes until cheese is melted and bubbly.

It’s not WW friendly, mostly because of the excessive amount of cheese.  The last time I made it was for his birthday last year and cut back on the cheese, which he did not approve of.  So I made a whole batch of the sauce, but froze half.  Made a half batch of lasagna for him to have for dinner while I am gone for this week’s trip.

Even with the dish not being the healthiest, it’s still much better than fried chicken, pizza, or anything else on the way home from his office 😉  Plus I know what’s in it and where it came from.

The sauce itself isn’t unhealthy, so I will thaw that half sometime down the road and make it into some sort of italian pasta dish for us.

SNACKS.  I know if I don’t make snacks and breakfast, he will forget and not eat them.  String cheese, nectarines, cottage cheese and peaches, Annie’s organic cheddar snack mix, pretzels and Laughing Cow, and pecan halves for him.

You may notice that everything I left him is stuff I don’t eat.  I don’t deprive him of things, just because the Dr. has me trying not to eat certain things.  By nature he’s a snack and breakfast skipper and we both recognize that isn’t a good idea.  I buy things I know he’ll enjoy for snacks and breakfast that are generally more healthy options than what’s offered in his office or on the way to work.  And when we eat dinner at home, we eat the same thing (although mine may be slightly modified).  I’ve never cooked us different meals, I don’t have the time, energy, or desire!

Guess I ought to start getting myself ready for Dallas, lol!

Leave a Reply

