Happy Birthday Mom!

Started out with DIY pizzas at my house Friday night.  It was sister’s turn to host parents, but they weren’t home, so I entertained mom and dad for the evening 🙂  I was out of GF crust, so I made pizza GF pasta for myself.  Turned out fabulous!

Then the grand opening of the new Rogue store all Saturday morning.

Then mom’s choice.  Shopping.  And boy was it HOT.  And all of the places we went were open air, so hot and sunny with no AC.  BLECH!   And I wore jeans because my legs may have needed TLC.

Lunch at Fish City.  Sister and mom’s first time.  They loved it.  Very large and varied menu.  Something for everyone. 

They have one of the very best Mexican Shrimp cocktails.  Perfect with a salad on the side.  It’s spicy and SO good!

More shopping.  Somehow my sister and I bought stuff and mom bought almost nothing.  I had a Christmas gift card i’d not even attempted to spend at Ann Taylor, so I killed that sucker.

Mom wanted a steak dinner, so the 3 of us and our boys went to Texas Land and Cattle for dinner.  Another 1st for mom and sister.

They loved it.  Mom and I both got the signature sirloin which is smokey peppered goodness.  A little sad because mine had so much fat I had to cut off, mom’s had almost none.  That’s ok, because their sweet potatoes rock.

She got a chocolate miracle cake and a peach bread pudding for dessert.

Verdict was that the bread pudding was really good, the cake was overrated.  I am not a big chocolate cake person, but I could tell I wouldn’t like that one especially.  Looked like a fancy grocery store chocolate cake with too-sweet icing.  The only person who liked the cake was sister’s other half, who ate most of it.  He’ll eat anything with icing on it though.

I doubt I would have eaten much, if any of either dessert if I could of.  But in the 15 minutes spent on dessert at the table, I felt VERY out of place. That doesn’t happen very often at all.  So strange.  We rarely order dessert out anyhow, but mom didn’t want a cake, she wanted whatever the restaurant had that looked good.

When I got home I went to HEB plus for some vanilla bean Nada Moo to make myself some dessert with strawberries, raw premium nuts, and dark chocolate.

This weekend was actually my Nada Moo anniversary, lol.  One year ago we did a race for Autism with a GF food fair for mom’s birthday.  Nada Moo was a vendor there.  It’s good stuff.  I wish more places carried it.

Great Saturday despite the heat.  Girl time with mom and sister and I got to see Dan for a few hours before he left for Canada early Sunday morning.

Leave a Reply

