The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

The good:  my test results were all normal. Cholesterol is fine.  He says from knowing my diet and exercise it’s not something i’m doing. With my family history, he’s not worried where I am and it’s certainly not needing medication.  *WHEW!*

The bad:  nothing was turned up by test results.  But things are getting worse.  My lip started quivering when he was talking about my results.  I was hoping for something.

The ugly: have to try Gluten Free for a longer period of time.  I was only GF 40 days during lent, then for a stint of 2 weeks after that before having to add it back.

Celiac/gluten panels are only 20% accurate.  I may have not had gluten back in my system long enough.  Or that possibly I am one of the people who isn’t Celiac but still has a sensitivity or intolerance that won’t come up on panels.

He really thinks that if I cut it out for a longer period of time and give my stomach time to repair, that I will notice a difference in most of my symptoms.  Go back in August and assess the situation.  At that time, retest my thyroid, because I was on the edge of being abnormal.

So not only am I GF now, but I have to try to be dairy free too.  WHAT!?!  Yes, many people who are gluten sensitive/intolerant, are also lactose or casein intolerant.  Soy is also not suggested.  I like cheese.  and yogurt. and cottage cheese 😦

I also need to add in a new probiotic.

Here we go!  It’s going to be a challenge, but it’s worth it to possibly feel better.

6 thoughts on “The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

    • I didn’t realize how much dairy I was using until I went to pack my lunch and workout snacks today. I feel like a do-do, I don’t know what to eat! I often eat cheese, yogurt, or cottage cheese for snacks, so that is going to be a huge adjustment.

    • I already eat the hummus and nut butters. I looked at yogurt alternatives at WF yesterday and they seem to be loaded with sugar and not the natural kind.

      I think with more research and planning, I can replace some of my usual snacks. I really relied on dairy for at least 2 snacks a day. Plus I was getting alot of calcium and protein from those sources, which will have to come elsewhere now.
      If I am going to do milk subs, I am going to have to give in to one of them. I’d already been through coconut, almond, and rice over the last year just to see and didn’t really like any of them.

  1. Erin says:

    If you haven’t done so already, check out the list of gluten ingredients online: http://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsafe-Gluten-Free-Food-List-Unsafe-Ingredients/Page1.html. Many people who are trying to eat GF are unknowlingly consuming gluten – whether it’s through hidden ingredients in packaged food or cross-contamination – and their symptoms don’t subside. Many Celiacs are able to eat dairy again after their gut heals. Alamo Celiac has been a great resource for us and they host a GF Got Guts fun run each September to raise money and awareness (and after the race there are tons of GF food vendors!).

Leave a Reply

