Sugar Free Challenge Friday: Day 3

WORKOUT

Day of rest for me, like most Fridays.

LIFE

When I say rest, I mean from working out, lol.  I was going to work from home on Friday because my new fabulous Energy Star dishwasher was being delivered.  YAY!  (this is a big deal, i’ve wanted a new dishwasher since we’ve moved in 2.5 years ago).  I run the dishwasher  just about everyday.  No, i’m not lazy, I like the clean a dishwasher gives you and I cook almost everyday or have dishes from my workday food.  And I HATE stuff on my countertop, I have a folding dish rack under the counter, which I only use a few times a year.

So the delivery of the dishwasher evolved into this…

I asked for the day off instead.  I had the dishwasher, irrigation system tech, and a cleaning service all come out.  I want to have someone help me with the house SO bad, but good grief, it’s really expensive.  I’m not lazy, I’m just a morning person.  I really only clean before work or working out or on weekend mornings on the rare occasion we are actually at home.  It’s hard keeping a big house clean by myself.  Makes me feel a little guilty that I want help, but I can’t stand getting behind on that.  I think i’m going to shop around before I make a decision.

And afterall, I do pay the irrigation tech to help with the sprinklers, although I am fully capable of doing that myself.  I’ve had the professional training, I just don’t think I could do it as well and therefore pay a professional to do it. 

There are just some things that are worth spending money on to have them save you time and have them done correctly.

FOOD

Not only is Amanda hosting the SF challenge, but she’s having a giveaway here

Breakfast: I decided no oatmeal today, I should change things up since I had time.  Made a greek scramble with eggs, feta, spinach, broccoli, EVOO, and mushrooms.  Fresh tomatoes on the side. (4 WW P+)

Snack:  I don’t usually eat an AM snack, but then again, I usually eat 2 breakfasts.  Today was an apple with almond butter (love that grinding machine at the store!)  (2P+)

Although someone I know has been putting almond butter on his waffles every morning, so we are running out.  I want to send him for more, but that is a dangerous chore, because he’ll come back with $50 worth of stuff that neither one of us needs.

Drinking more water, I just don’t like iced tea by itself.

Lunch:   Same salad as yesterday, but with grilled chicken, EVOO, and egg.  And baby red onions from my dad’s garden.

Snack:  last serving of the veggie soup (0 P+), almonds (2 P+)

Dinner:   We were actually at home, so I wanted to do watch Friday Night Lights when it came on (instead of a week later on DVR) and have “high school football” food.  Chili cheese dogs!  (I am VERY picky about lunch meat and hot dogs).   I keep Whitewheat burger and dog buns in the freezer for Dan, so I had everything on hand.

I ate two (the first one didn’t even make it on the plate, oops!), plus some slaw I threw together (cabbage, carrots, green onions, Dijon mustard, and yogurt). Slaw was 1P+.  Chili dogs were 6P+ each.  I didn’t use whole servings of chili or cheese.  Onions from dad’s garden and mustard to dress them up.

Made vegetarian chili to go on them, new recipe, super easy.  Will freeze leftovers, maybe use somehow for next week’s lunches.  It made about 6 one cup servings.

Three Bean Chili

• 2 Tablespoons olive oil
• 2 medium onions, chopped
• 1 medium red pepper, chopped
• 1 medium green pepper, chopped
• 1 large jalapeno pepper (seeded, de-veined and chopped)
• 6 cloves garlic, minced
• 1 cup beer/broth
• 2 16 oz. cans diced tomatoes
• 1 14 oz. can black beans
• 1 16 oz. can dark red kidney beans
• 1 tablespoon ground cumin
• 2 tablespoons chili powder
• 1 tablespoon hot pepper sauce
• 1 teaspoon salt
• 1 can vegetarian refried beans with chiles

In a large pot, add olive oil and warm over medium heat.  Add onion, peppers, and garlic.  Saute for 5 minutes or until softened.  Add beer and stir well.  Add tomatoes, black beans and kidney beans, stirring well to combine.  Add cumin, chili powder, hot sauce and salt.  Stir in refried beans to thicken chili.  Reduce heat to low and simmer for 15 minutes.

Dessert:  Yogurt with almonds and chia.  (6P+)  Added a pureed banana for sweetness, which was pretty good 🙂

Leave a Reply

