Things I like Thursday: Farm Fresh

One of the reasons I was MIA since last week, is that I went home to see my parents Friday-Saturday afternoon.  Mom was having a garage sale and needed help.  And then we were busy with a Ryan Bingham show Saturday night, then Dan’s work had the suite at the RR Express game Sunday.  Good times, but exhausting. 

Oh and I may have put all of our dishes in mom’s garage sale….and never found ones I wanted to replace them.  Paper plates until I can find dishes I like, haha!

While I was home, apparently mom and dad also needed help picking their AWESOME garden.  I brought home 3 different kinds of tomatoes, cucumbers, green beans, black-eyed peas, zucchini, jalapeno, red and yellow onions.   There was much more, but because I knew I was going out Saturday and Sunday and then leaving town Monday-Tuesday, I didn’t want to take too much.

I roasted the zucchini for lunch on Saturday during mom’s garage sale.  Paired it with turkey, hummus, and swiss on FRESH pumpernickel bread from Haby’s Bakery in Castroville.  SO good.

I didn’t know what to do with the peas.  So I made Cowboy Caviar, although I’d never tasted it before.  Everything in the dish came from their garden (minus the spices and dressing).

Cowboy Caviar

All produce was fresh from the garden.  Combined cooked black-eyed peas (I steamed mine), about 6 diced tomatoes, diced onion, diced jalapeno.  Then added some cayenne, coriander, pepper, and italian dressing.  Let sit for at least 2 hours.  I didn’t really measure anything except the dressing, I used a half cup.

It was great and I was shocked that Dan liked it too.  It was also good as a leftover.  Once I had it over salad.  Another lunch I had it with diced turkey, cheese, and avocado added. 

Simple and YUM!  Very P+ friendly too.  My servings were 2P+ each.

To use more of the fresh produce, I made Shrimp Fra Diavlo with steamed green beans.

Also put all fresh ingredients from the garden in this one.  The shrimp wasn’t fresh, it was from the boat I bought off of in Port Aransas.

Shrimp Fra Diavlo

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
2 cups fresh tomato (or canned)
1/2 pounds medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
1/4 teaspoon salt
Italian spices and crushed red pepper to taste
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4-1/3 cup crumbled feta cheese
Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

Heat the oil in an oven proof skillet over a medium-high heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring, until softened, about 3 minutes, then add the garlic and cook for 1 minute. Add the tomatoes and Italian spices and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium-low and let simmer for about 5 minutes, until the tomato juices thicken.
Remove from the heat. Stir in shrimp and season with salt and pepper. Sprinkle the feta over the top. Bake until the shrimp are cooked through and cheese melts, about 12 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Things I like Thursday: Farm Fresh

Leave a Reply

