Now screening applications

I’ve decided from now on, I think I need to screen travel buddies, especially for work trips.    I traveled with two people, both men on this trip.  I’ve had my share of bad women as well, just not in a while.

I went up to the Dallas/Fort Worth area for two days.  First day in Arlington, second day in McKinney.  I’m shocked I made it through two days without losing my mind.  At least one person was good company.

Here are some of the criteria I think I am going to look at, based on my 2 most recent work trips, but this applies to anyone I guess:

  • Being on time.  We were late leaving both days, late to our meeting the 2nd day.  Even though Dan is late everywhere, I HATE being late. 

 

  • Preparedness.  The maps printed were not what they were supposed to be for.  The presentation was only 1 hour, it needed to be 3.  Guess who had to save the day and do a impromptu presentation? (I wasn’t even supposed to be there!)

 

  • Driving.  Be at least a decent driver and don’t kill me, that’s all I ask.  That and maybe having some sense of direction.  Knowing left from right can go a long way.

 

  • Be thoughtful.  I’m just going to say that I didn’t get lunch until 3:30 pm on Tuesday and never got one on Monday.  Luckily on Monday I found a mini-Starbucks and was able to get a cup of fruit and a latte at 2 pm.  That was my lunch.  Yes, I am still mad. 

 

  • Someone who doesn’t want to eat every meal at McDonalds.  Yes this happened.  I don’t want to eat ANY meal at McDonald’s.  Sorry.  I know it’s cheap, but I don’t care.  There are other options that don’t suck so bad. A grown man threw a hissy fit both days about eating at McDonalds.  Really?  My other coworker was scared the whole time I think.

 

  • Someone who appreciates decent food.  Really, is that too much to ask?  We are traveling on expenses, you will get paid back.  It doesn’t have to be fancy, but I want at LEAST what i’d make for myself if I was at home or better. 

 

  • Speaking of tips…if you aren’t going to tip, then don’t eat with me.  It’s not the server’s fault we don’t get reimbursed for tips or that you are a cheap skate.  If this really bothers you, hit the drive-thru after I eat.

 

  • Accessibility.  If you wont give your coworkers your cell phone number, I am not traveling with you.  I have to be able to communicate with you, especially if you have the car keys.

 

  • Flexibility.  You just have to be.  Especially when you are not alone.

 

  • Manners.  Please control your bodily functions.

 

  • Common Sense.  (ok, that’s where I am probably asking too much)

Granted, I didn’t take my “emergency food”, which I never forget, but I shouldn’t have to!  On Tuesday I walked in the rain to Starbucks to get my breakfast.  I enjoyed the rain and the walk, but I was just happy there were places to eat near our hotel that I could walk to (which is what I did for Monday’s dinner).  I am glad I bought a Kind bar and a banana when I got breakfast, anticipating my coworker would be a brat.

Unfortunately both days during lunch, I was at his mercy and that did not pan out well.  On Tuesday, while I was enjoying an iced tea for lunch and watching my coworker down a supersize fry and a triple cheeseburger, I plotted how I was going to hitch-hike back to Austin.

8 thoughts on “Now screening applications

  1. Neé Neé says:

    OMG. OMG. OMG.

    I would be BEYOND pissed. What the heck kind of people are you working with?!?!? AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

  2. WHAT THE FLIP, LADY?! I live in McKinney! I would’ve brought you homemade, clean, perfectly-portioned noms!

    I’d travel with you any day! I totally agree with all of those requirements, and I’ll run with you, hehe!

    • I feel like such a doof. I guess I didn’t realize you were in McKinney! I am going to try to go back soon.
      I would have totally loved to meet up with you! We drove up Monday afternoon after the presentation and then were out with the City all day. I definately had spare time Monday night and Tuesday morning.

      I am booking my room for Whiterock today. Either staying at the Omni or the Crowne, haven’t decided yet.

  3. this applies to me traveling for races now. ESPECIALLY after what happened on this last trip to San Fran for B2B100. Ridic. Rude. Disrespectful.

Leave a Reply

