Super Sister Saturday

After I fooled around in Temple and Killeen Saturday morning, I rushed back to Austin for a sister date in the fabulous mild weather (THIS IS WHAT SPRING IS SUPPOSED TO BE!)  Dan is in NOLA playing.  So I am too (except my idea of playing is eating and running, not playing golf and getting drunk).

Whole Foods Culinary Center-Sidewalk Social.  Food tastings, demos, goodies, etc.

The first station we got to was gourmet popcorn.  I wasn’t interested in that…so we hit up the DIY fruit lemonaid bar.  I forgot to take photos.  Mine had blackberries, cherries, and raspberries in it.  Refreshing!

My sister makes the best goofy faces and always looks cute doing it.  Reminds me of Janae

Then DIY lettuce wraps with orange marinated grilled tofu, peanuts, veggies, and chile sauce.  Also very refreshing.  I wanted to eat more than the one I built!

My sister got a piece of cilantro in hers, I couldn’t quit laughing, she hates it with a fiery passion.

Street Tacos!

She had some sort of saucey pork.  I had carnitas.  I ate mine before I saw the sauces.  DARN IT! 

Went back outside and sister tried the sandwich table.  I wanted to cry.  It looked SO good.  Beef and swiss on pretzel bread, bruchetta with a slice of filet mignon on top.  *sigh*

At least I could drown my sorrows in the gelato.  Although I REALLY wanted the lemon one, it had graham crackers on top 😦  So sister got coffee and I got vanilla.  The vanilla was actually very good.  Not Amy’s Ice Cream Mexican Vanilla good, but good.

When I got home, I dumped out my reusable goodie bag to explore…

Besides the bag, there were coupons, chocolate (not pictured because I ate it in the car), granola, pretzel crisps, a natural soda, 2 types of raw and GF snacks, a protein bar, and some sweetener.  Fun stuff.

Upon closer inspection, one of the raw and GF snacks was chocolate macaroons.  Uh, chocolate and coconut?  Yes.  I die.

Hail Merry  chocolate macaroons (based in Dallas).  I don’t care what they look like, they are SO good.  It’s a good thing only 4 came in the bag, or I may have gotten myself into some big trouble! (they are 4P+ per serving if you are wondering)  Worth it in my opinion.

Ended it all with some shopping at local boutiques.  Fun stuff.

One thought on “Super Sister Saturday

Leave a Reply

