Fun new food

This one is new to me, anyhow.  It’s  been marked with a star in my reader forever.  It’s a recipe that  Megan posted that is one of her mom’s specialties.

I honestly hadn’t tried it yet because tomatoes have looked/tasted crummy and been pricey.  This week Sprouts had big gorgeous tomatoes on sale.  Best part was, they tasted as awesome as they looked 🙂   I don’t usually use butter, but it’s a small amount and I figured it was much needed since it is “scampi” afterall.

Chicken Scampi

6-8 servings

Ingredients:
1/8-1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 cup sliced green onions
1 T minced garlic
the juice from one lemon
2 lbs boneless skinless chicken breast cut into 1/2 inch pieces
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper
1/4 cup fresh minced parsley
3-6 fresh chopped tomatoes
Pasta of choice boiled and drained (bowtie or penne)

In a skillet heat together butter, olive oil, green onions and garlic. Add lemon juice, chicken, salt, pepper and parsley. Continue cooking and stirring until chicken is done. Add tomatoes, cook and heat through.
Serve over pasta.

*Halved the recipe because there are only 2 of us (just the chicken, butter, and EVOO). I marinated my chicken first in italian dressing.  First night served it over pasta (wheat for Dan, GF for me).  2nd night served it over baked potatoes (Alton Brown method).

I think it would be great with shrimp, tofu, or no meat at all.  The sauce really is fresh and tasty.

My re-purposed leftovers..

KEEPER 🙂

And then there was the discovery of gluten free tuna burgers at Super Target.  Can’t say i’ve ever had a tuna burger, but I love tuna steaks, tuna sushi, and canned tuna.   I snatched them up for a try.

I dreamed of an awesome piece of tuna on a grilled/roasted salad…

Yeah, that’s pretty much how I dreamt it.  Field greens, tomatoes, mushrooms. Then roasted zucchini, onions, and eggplant.  Dressed with balsamic vinaigrette and some swiss cheese.  I even made croutons out of GF bread that I pan toasted which were great until the dressing touched them 😦

The taste and look were great…except for the tuna.  I didn’t like it.  It wasn’t anything special, could have made my own that would have probably tasted better.  Oh well, the salad part was good and I made enough roasted veggies for later on.  I’m thinking roasted veggie pasta 😉

One thought on “Fun new food

Leave a Reply

