Things I like Thursday: Holidays

Here’s a list of officially observed Texas holidays, just in case you are just dying to know:

Labor Day
Veteran’s Day
Thanksgiving Day
Day after Thanksgiving
Christmas Eve Day
Christmas Day
Day after Christmas
New Year’s Day
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Confederate Heroes’ Day*
Presidents’ Day
Texas Independence Day* (my favorite!)
Cesar Chavez Day*
San Jacinto Day*
Memorial Day
Emancipation Day*
Independence Day
LBJ’s Birthday*

*State holidays, but offices remain open with small operating crews.  To me that means: hopefully everyone else will take the day off and i’ll get a lot of work done 😉  I almost always work those type of holidays.

October is the only month with no holiday, which I think is phooey.  Guess only the feds care about Columbus.

I love the state holidays, even if I end up having to work (is it June yet?)

 Happy San Jacinto Day!

2 thoughts on “Things I like Thursday: Holidays

  1. That list of dates is crazy! Teacher don’t even get all those days off so why should the state? I’m just sayin’…
    Also, I’ve never heard of Confederate Heros Day. What the heck is that?

    To answer your question, I almost never wear heels. Like maybe once a month, and even then I take them off when I’m in my classroom. I made an appointment with an orthopedic tomorrow so hopefully I’ll find out what’s wrong!

Leave a Reply

