Long road to Houston

I worked until 1 pm on Friday.  Tried to get everything wrapped up in the office, so that i’d have nothing to worry about over the weekend.

There are many routes to Houston, but I chose to go highway 290 because I had wanted to take mom to Buc-ees in Giddings (which is about an hour outside of Austin).  I was just telling my mom how much I hate that road (we were between Elgin and Giddings), because it’s an un-divided road where the speed limit is 70 most of the way.  Over the years, i’ve driven up on many horrible accidents and the highway is lined with memorials and crosses.  It’s not a very safe area.  We were talking about a snack/bathroom break 15 miles ahead in Giddings. 

Then it happened.  About 100 yards in front of me, a Lexus SUV tried to make a u-turn and did so straight into a full size older conversation van.  The van went through a fence and into a pasture.  The SUV spun around about 4 times and pieces flew EVERYWHERE.  It was horrible.  I have no idea why someone would try to make a u-turn from an active lane on an un-divided highway where the speed limit is 70.  I would have pulled into a driveway, turned around, and then pulled out.  The driver of the van lept out and ran to the SUV which was pretty far away.

I immediately called 911.  Luckily there was a tractor store right in front of me with a clearly posted address.  It took about 15 minutes for cops to get there and an EMT, 30 minutes for more police.  Since others were attending to the SUV, I stayed across the highway at my car.  I didn’t want to see what was going on (everyone was fine, just minor injuries).  Airbags deployed all over the Lexus.  I could see the lady driver’s arms and there were some guys talking to her while we waited for the crews to arrive.  I confirmed with the sheriff that everyone was alright, I just didn’t want to see anything.  I gave him my contact information and he stopped traffic for mom and I could get into the road.  He warned me to never ever drive in the left-hand lane of that road (pretty sure i’ll be a long time before I drive that road again).  We’d already planned on taking IH-10 to 71 back to Austin on Sunday, so we can make some other special stops.

So we get back on the road, although we were both shaken up.  We get outside of Houston, see another Buc-ees and stop for another break.  And then my freaking car wouldn’t start.  I thought the keyless key was dead, so I tried jumping it, which didn’t work.  I tried and tried and 15 minutes later, I get it started.  I get back on the freeway and try searching for a dealership to run-into (while trying not to kill us driving).  As I am searching, my mom sees one, so I immediately get off the freeway.  They tell me they close in 30 minutes and I had to explain to them that we were traveling and I needed my car to start!  The girl got someone to look at my car, they replaced the break switch and we got back on the road.  Only to sit on the toll-road for an hour in traffic.  FUN!

We eventually made it to the hotel.  I joked with my mom in the AM, that I am pretty sure I am not her child and she is really Dan’s mother.  They both are chronic overpackers!

We are not even here for TWO days.  That is only her stuff!  And you can’t even see the 2 Whole Foods re-usable bags hanging from the cart.

We unloaded into the room and set off for dinner and errands.  We ate at Market Seafood. 

She had Mahi Mahi, which was alright, it was a bit overcooked.  She had some awesome BBQ’d Mahi in Corpus earlier in the week, so the bar was set pretty high.

I had peel and eat shrimp and a salad.  It was good, but it’s pretty hard to screw up boiling shrimp, but they were fresh.  The sauce was ok, I made it better with a bunch of hot sauce.  Way fresher than last Friday, when I had the same exact meal in Georgetown.  Funny how this time last year, I wouldn’t touch shrimp cooked that way, now I LOVE it. 

We ran to the grocery store on the way back to the hotel to get some snacks and other things.  We both enjoyed some dessert and watched some Food Network.  Exciting huh?

2 thoughts on “Long road to Houston

Leave a Reply

