Things I like Thursday: Kitchen Staples

We keep a lot more on hand at all times than I can even remember, but here are some of our staples.  Megan gave me the idea earlier in the week 🙂

When I run low on something, it gets put on the list on the fridge.  I try to never run out of anything, especially if it’s something we always keep.  Dan is good about putting items on the list too (he knows that’s how they make it back into our house, hehe).

My kitchen:

In the pantry…
Rolled Oats (not eating during lent-mine isn’t GF certified)
Peanut Butter/Almond Butter
Canned Beans: black, pinto, white, kidney, and garbanzo
Canned soups (for recipes mostly)
Broths-veggie, chicken, and beef (also bullions of the same variety)
Canned Veggies – green beans, corn, tomatoes, tomato paste, etc.
Tuna
Pretzels for Dan
Laughing Cow Wedges
Wasabi edamame and peas (Dan snack)
Jerky
40 calorie Natures Own Sourdough Bread (Dan)
Whole Wheat Pasta (I have some alternatives for lent right now for me)
Brown Rice
Grains: quinoa, bulgur, barley, oat bran, wheatberries (I can’t eat half this stuff right now either)
Sugar free hot chocolate
Raw Almonds/walnuts, mixed raw nuts
Olive, canola, and sunflower oils
SF Torani Syrup
There is also a Dan shelf that has things I don’t eat (Nutella, various crackers, chips, regular popcorn, etc.)
In the freezer…
Frozen veggies (all types)
Frozen Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts
Dark chocolate chips
Flour-regular and wheat (I’m not eating this right now either)
Meat subs
Nuts:  walnuts and almonds
Ezekiel Bread (mine, but not eating it during lent)
HEB brand chicken breasts-fajita pre-seasoned (they often have meal deals with this)
Frozen fruit-I freeze my bananas for smoothies or snacks.
Sweet potatoes I bagged around Thanksgiving
Cranberries
Peaches from my parent’s tree 
For cooking/baking…
Cinnamon.
Kosher Salt
Ground Black pepper
Other cooking spices include: onion powder, garlic salt, cumin, cayenne pepper, ground cloves, oregano, basil…etc.  We have a TON of spices and seasonings.
Spice rubs for grilling
Non-stick cooking spray – This is a MUST have. I have EVOO, canola, butter, and grill sprays
Misto sprayer with EVOO in it
Baking powder and soda
Cocoa powder
My go-to Produce…
Fruit: I always have apples.  In the summer I buy a TON of fresh fruit
Veggies: tomatoes, spinach, lettuce, onions.  When they are cheap: zucchini, broccoli, fancy salad, yellow squash, eggplant.  I always keep frozen on hand

2 thoughts on “Things I like Thursday: Kitchen Staples

Leave a Reply

