Tuesday

GYM

It was so good to get back into the gym before work and have a decent workout.  I am in dire need of some new strength workouts though.  I need to make this a bigger priority.  Any suggestions? (must be full body).

LIFE

Work has finally started to slow down from last week, but it’s still pretty intense.  Had a ton of new projects come down yesterday which will keep me super busy in addition to my regular work and my legislative work.  At least I am not losing my mind like last week.

SXSW is here!  Dan and some of our friends are attending a showcase on Wednesday afternoon.  I have a dentist appointment and both cats have a vet appointment after that (i’ll be running all over the place!).  I can’t really take time off of work, so i’ll probably just go Friday and Saturday this year (as of right now I, knock on wood, have Friday OFF!).  I begged for it months ago, I hope it actually happens 🙂   I LOVE LOVE LOVE SXSW.  I think this is my 9th year.

After work, I had to run a few errands and got started on dinner.  We were having more estimates done on a total fence replacement for our super huge backyard.  When our house was built, they put in a crummy “5 year fence”.  So we are getting estimates on having the fence completely replaced and our yard leveled.  I’m not happy about the money, but SUPER happy about the way my backyard will look.  I can finally plant things when it’s all said and done 🙂  Dan said nothing in the backyard until it was leveled.  2 years later, we are getting it done.  You better believe I am going to be a planting and gardening fool in about a month!  Now if only we didn’t live in the rockiest place on earth (digging any hole means breaking rock, which REALLY sucks).

FOOD

Monday at the gym, I read the March issue of Cooking Light magazine.  I’d forgotten to bring anything with me and there was actually a current copy of something somewhat interesting, lol.  Didn’t really want to read a cooking magazine while pounding away on the stairmill, but I did.  I stumbled across a recipe for shrimp tortilla soup.  I was intrigued.

Spicy Tortilla Soup with Shrimp and Avocado

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: about 1 3/4 cups soup, 2 tablespoons chips, and 1/4 cup avocado)

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 cup prechopped onion
1/3 cup prechopped celery
1/3 cup chopped carrot
1 tablespoon minced chipotle chile, canned in adobo sauce
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
2 teaspoons minced garlic
4 cups fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth
1 (15-ounce) can white hominy, rinsed and drained
1 (15-ounce) can no-salt-added fire-roasted diced tomatoes, undrained
12 ounces peeled and deveined medium shrimp
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup lightly crushed baked tortilla chips (about 1 ounce)*
1 cup diced avocado (about 1/2 pound)
2 tablespoons fresh cilantro leaves (optional)

1. Heat a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add onion and next 6 ingredients (through garlic); cook 6 minutes or until carrot is crisp-tender, stirring occasionally. Add broth, hominy, and tomatoes; bring to a boil. Cover and cook 6 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add shrimp; cook 2 minutes or until shrimp are done.

2. Remove from heat; stir in juice and salt. Divide shrimp mixture evenly among 4 bowls; top evenly with chips and avocado. Garnish with cilantro, if desired.

*I used baked scoops for the tortilla chips. 

CALORIES 357 ; FAT 13.9g (sat 2.3g,mono 7.6g,poly 2.5g); CHOLESTEROL 130mg; CALCIUM 97mg; CARBOHYDRATE 32.7g; SODIUM 570mg; PROTEIN 25.9g; FIBER 7g; IRON 3.7mg  (Source Cooking Light 3/2011)

3 thoughts on “Tuesday

  1. I am doing a 3 day a week total body workout. Well 2 days total and the 3rd day legs are more floor work really. I don’t normally like total body because they can be time consuming and I like to focus on muscle groups, but this is a cool rotation.

Leave a Reply

