Frigid Friday

Woke up at 4:30 to hit the gym before work.  Had a text that work was opening late again because of weather.  Looked outside, observed the snow and ice and then went back to bed.

 Got up at 6 to get ready to go to the gym, went to check my phone again and at the same time my BFF was calling to wish me a Happy Birthday.  It took about 10 minutes of convincing to make her believe my birthday was NOT Friday.  She’d already posted on Facebook, so before I knew it, I had about 30 birthday messages.  Hey now!  No need to make me older than I am 😉

When I finished talking to her, I realized I had another text saying we were closed.  Awesome.  I needed a day off and a bad weather day was the only way I was going to get one. 

We didn’t get alot of snow, but we did get alot of ice.  I am glad I got to stay at home and away from all of the crazies on the road (especially since I commute to work).  Apparently my office area got the worst of it, so it was even better they told us to stay at home.

Started the morning off with an awesome Mexican inspired migas breakfast bowl (eggs, tons of veggies, crushed chips, cheese, guacamole, corn tortillas).  OLE’

Went outside to take some photos of the almost non-existent snow, we got 1.4 inches.

Totally weak compared to last year. 

Chanel didn’t believe me that it was cold, she went to see for herself…

I called the gym to see if they were open and they were.  Then I started thinking about even getting out of our very steep driveway and the 8 miles to the gym.  No thanks, I’ll pass.  Didn’t want Dan to get a call that I crashed my car on ice going to the gym, when I should have been at home.

SUPER lazy day.  Watched the only show I had on DVR, set it to record 2 random movies and some other things just in case.  Got a call from sister that she was still planning on coming to spend the night Friday night and wanted fish for dinner.  Since we were having fish, I still wanted my Friday pizza darn it, so I had it for lunch!

Feta, fresh basil leaves, mushrooms, asparagus, sundried tomatoes, bell peppers, onions, and a little turkey sausage that I found in the bottom of the freezer. 

For dessert I had these

LOL, not really but there was a knock on the door when the pizza was in the oven.  Tulips, my favorite!  Apparently these were to be delivered to work on Friday, but the weather changed the plans.  I feel kind of badly, because we live FAR from this florist.  It must have cost a fortune for them to be rerouted up to our house.  LOVE THEM!

For dinner I made Almond Crusted Tilapia, which was still as good as ever.  Side of asparagus with Laughing Cow Alfredo sauce on top.  We watched some comedy shows i’d recorded, they were all pretty disappointing, nothing really worth mentioning.  Sister played with Missy way too much and had an allergy attack and had to go to bed.  She never learns that she has to take medicine before playing with Missy.

We made plans to sleep in and go for a little run and the Farmers Market on Saturday morning. We’d originally planned on doing the Cupid’s Chase 5K in  Georgetown on Saturday morning, but they cancelled it.  I am still pretty po’d about that.  I was so excited that my sister was finally running a race with me (she hasn’t done a race in over 3 years).  Doubt i’ll get her to sign up for another since she paid $22 for nothing 😦   And I didn’t get to wear my super cute running outfit i’d put together for the occasion, complete with pink and purple heart patterned knee socks! 

  Fun and lazy morning planned.  Plus I was dying to get more of the Baby Zack’s smoked hummus which i’d finished off with a snack earlier on Friday 😉

2 thoughts on “Frigid Friday

    • I know it’s laughable to most other states. It was SO nice. I needed a day off so badly.
      Work has really starting to get to me. Not really work directly, but seeing the way the economy of Texas isn’t improving and it’s getting me down.

Leave a Reply

