Wild Windblown Night

LIFE

Another sleepless night.  The norther came in around 3 am and I was pretty much wide awake from then until it was time to get up. (that extra hour and a half of sleep would have been nice).  I swear I thought our house was moving.  I’ve never heard such forceful wind.  Dan didn’t hear a thing, but then again, he was in a Nyquil induced coma in our guest bedroom.

GYM

There was a bit of wind damage around town, so I took the toll roads into Austin to avoid any debris on the other roads.  Tried 2 new cardio machines at the gym for some cardio cross training (the insane incline tread-trainer and the weird new elliptical).   Both are pretty good workouts, I am impressed.  Way more challenging and fun than a regular treadmill or elliptical.  The incline trainer claims to burn a certain percentage more calories and based on my HRM, it really does (because the intensity of the inclines it throws at you is HARD…in a good way)  I decided to let my legs rest 1 more day, so I only did upper body strength.

It was a LONG day at work.  I got an urgent assignment and pretty much stayed glued to my chair all day (including having to miss 2 important meetings).  In this time, I seriously thought I was coming down with whatever illness Dan has.  Luckily it went away about 2 pm and I never got the fever, chills, or aches he did.  So glad i’ve avoided whatever it is he has.  Hope he comes back to Texas all better on Saturday night! 

FOOD

Wanted to share one of my very favorite Weight Watchers recipes.  I’ve been making this for about 4 years now.  It’s quick, easy, and it freezes well.  Plus it’s a great base for making a more hearty soup if you want to add more veggies, a grain, cheese, and or meat.  I’ve added bulgur and mushrooms to it before to make it more of a main dish soup.

Glad I packed something today that was easy to eat while working on the computer.  Spicy Black Bean Soup (from WW site), chicken breast wrap with Baby Zack’s bbq hummus with veggies, and more tangerines.  (lovely Blackberry photography)

  1 spray(s) cooking spray   
  1 medium onion(s), finely chopped   
  4 clove(s) garlic clove(s), minced (medium)   
  45 oz canned black beans, undrained, divided (three 15 oz cans)   
  1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, or to taste   
  1 tsp Durkee Ground Cumin Seed, or other brand   
  14 1/2 oz fat-free chicken broth, or vegetable broth   
  10 oz canned tomatoes with green chilis, such as Rotel Tomatoes   
  11 oz canned yellow corn, drained   

Instructions

  • Coat bottom of a large stockpot with cooking spray. Add onion and garlic and cook, stirring frequently, until onions are soft but not brown, about 5 minutes.
  • Place one can of beans in blender; add sautéed onion mixture, red pepper flakes and cumin. Cover and blend on high until smooth, about 30 seconds. Pour mixture back into stockpot.
  • Place second can of beans and broth in blender and puree until smooth; add to stockpot.
  • Stir third can of beans (do not puree first), tomatoes and green chilies, and corn into stockpot. Bring to a boil, lower heat to medium and simmer for 20 to 25 minutes. Yields about 1 1/2 cups of soup per serving.  8 servings.  4P+ each.

I froze 4 servings and put the other 4 in the fridge for lunches this week.  I’m prepared for more bad weather and more hectic workdays 🙂

Is it Friday yet?

4 thoughts on “Wild Windblown Night

  1. So is the incline trainer just a treadmill that does an insane incline? We have 3 that do that (those are my faves to run on actually, if I can even say fave and treadmill together). They even have bars to hang onto when you do the super incline.

    • yeah, the location by my gym got about 10 of them right after the NY.

      The deck seems way harder and less give than a regular treadmill. I haven’t run on one for that reason, i’m kind of scared to

  2. Your B-day is SATURDAY?!!? YAY!! How fun to have so many holidays right in a row. I’m obsessed with holidays, so that is my idea of a good month. I hope you have an AWESOME party planned or dinner or something great! Your talking of Jamaica is making me So. Dang. Jealous. I think I was made for warm weather…In fact I know it. Your rice looks DIVINE too. I think i’m obsessed with food…

Leave a Reply

