Marvelous Monday

Monday at work zoomed by, I *think* that was a good thing.  Didn’t get everything done that I wanted to, but I still have Tuesday-Thursday 😉

During lunch I got myself 2 new fabulous bed pillows AND produce.  YAY!  I don’t really grocery shop during lunch usually, but I needed groceries and I was in a time crunch.  I wanted to fit in a workout before I got Dan from the airport after work.  I even planned a route to the airport that has a Gold’s on the way (a location I’d never been to in south Austin).  It looks questionable on the outside, but it was so big and spacious inside and really arranged well, I liked it.  Wow, I think the only location I haven’t used in town is Lincoln Village.  I got 2 magazines read and an awesome stairmill workout.  What I wasn’t thinking ahead about is that stairmill=massive sweat=wet clothes.  It was cold outside which made being drenched worse. I was pretty much wet from 5:30 until 8 when we got home.  Should have packed extra clothes or thought to bring my shower bag.

Speaking of Dan coming back, we had more Christmas to do!  He hadn’t opened half of my gifts since they arrived right after he left, plus he hadn’t opened the ones from my parents. (and I might have sorta bought him a few more things while he was gone like that awesome FML calendar).  The pillows weren’t part of Christmas, but I wrapped them up anyhow.

Mom and dad got him some of his favorite coffee from Guenther House (owned by the lovely Pioneer Flour mill) and a giant giftcard to Dick’s Sporting Goods.  I’m hoping he spends it on workout gear, but they do sell quite the array of golf stuff.

Missy really missed him.  She was thrilled we did gifts on the floor, so she could sit near Dan, afterwards, she didn’t want us to clean up the mess!

Not really sure Chanel noticed he was back, but for some reason, she all of a sudden discovered sleeping under the tree (they do this every year, I gave up trying to keep that tree skirt clean).  This year, I put her pillow in front of the manger and she’d be sleeping there, but last night, she decided the tree is better!

I hate to break it to her that the tree is likely coming down on Sunday.  Although Dan and I both agreed we like the light the tree gives off and it makes the house extra homey.  Maybe we’ll keep it up a few more months, lol!

FOOD

Food was low-key and effortless today, halfway because I didn’t have anything before I went to the store and halfway because I wanted to use what I DID have up.  Putting leftover Keller Cranberry Relish  in my oats all week, which I LOVE.

Last serving of Janetha’s Mexican Casserole from my freezer for lunch, deviled eggs made with Pita Pal Basil and sun-dried tomato hummus, and for dinner leftover Pioneer brand chili on a baked potato for me, chili-cheese dogs for Dan.  Gingerbread flavored greek yogurt for dessert with walnuts.

It’s a good thing I had a plan for dinner, because we got home pretty late and didn’t eat until after 8!  I hate to eat that late, but by time we started home from the airport, bought Dan’s pillows at the mall (couldn’t get the right ones at the other store during lunch) and unloaded the car, time had ticked away.  Well and then it wasn’t just heat and eat, it probably took at least 30 minutes for us to prep our meals. 

Good day, although it seemed SO short!

2 thoughts on “Marvelous Monday

  1. I hate to eat that late too, but sometimes you just don’t have much of a choice. Being cold after sweaty sucks. I’ve started to try and bring a shirt to change into after we run down at the river even. And sometimes super busy days can be good ones.

  2. I always hate when the tree comes down because it seems so empty, (and it’s such a pain to do it!) I love the idea of cranberry relish in your oatmeal! My oatmeal gets so boring and redundant sometimes…

Leave a Reply

