Fuzzy kind of day

WORKOUT

I didn’t get to the gym when it opened.  GASP!  ok, it was about 15 minutes past.  I was too busy eating breakfast, dragging along, and finishing reading my blogs from yesterday, lol!  Reverted back to pumpkin-nut oats for breakfast, it was tasty.

Weight session at the gym.  Think it went pretty well.  Never saw my sister, she was supposed to be there.  Showered and got ready there.

My homework for the week, other than keeping up with blogging, is to work on some new strength moves/routines.  Overdue for switching things up.  Also, to work on some projects at home to make my life easier 🙂  Once Jan 11 comes, it’ll be one day at a time until June (best case scenario).  I need to be prepared for life to be nuts.

LIFE

Ran some errands before it was time for sister-date.   Hit up Academy first to look for a race outfit for 3M in January.  I never buy outfits for races anymore, but mom wants to wear the same colors, which I think will be cute.  She bought part of hers, but now I think we are going to have to switch colors, because I can’t find anything in my size in the Nike aqua blue she bought.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE being little, I just don’t like not being able to find shirts to fit right under the arms.  And neither one of us likes tight running tops, so the search continues.  Going to try again Thursday in San Antonio when i’m at home.

Once sister joined me, we ran a bunch of other places.  Got 2 pairs black boots, YAY!  Now I just need to decide if I want both pairs.  And I still need a brown pair.  And I ran across something else for Dan (he doesn’t have to know I bought him more stuff).   She bought a few items for her little sister (she just started doing Big Brothers and Big Sisters). 

Speaking of being more involved, I am serving as one of the head planners for ARC’s Daisy 5K and Kids K again this year.  I LOVE that race.  Mark your calendars, it’s April 10 (I think) at the Round Rock outlets, if you live in the area, I expect you there, running or volunteering 😉  

AND I was selected earlier this week to serve on the Komen for the Cure Austin Young Professionals council.  YAY! 

FOOD

Sister and I had lunch at Fuzzys Tacos which just opened days ago in Railyard Shopping Center on FM1431 near 183 in Cedar Park.  We both have a giant love for fish tacos and I heard they were great (it’s a small chain based in DFW area that is expanding through Texas and the south).  Cedar Park is the first of 15 opening in Austin area this year.

Yeah, that pretty much says it.   The tacos were GREAT.  I would have gotten a plate, but that came with 2 tacos and 2 sides and the only side that I knew I’d like was beans and I didn’t want double beans (although I’ve been known to do that before).  I am very picky about Mexican rice.  Next time I’ll take Dan and let him be the guinea pig with the rest of the sides.

She had 2 of the grilled fish.  I had 1 grilled fish, 1 grilled shrimp.  1 put their habanero sauce on one (HOLY HECK!), and their “Butt Burning House sauce” on the other.  They were great without, but the Butt Burning sauce was really good.  Habanero was a little too strong for me, the spice was good, but it had too much tabasco like flavor.

Dinner-Since my mushroom hater is gone and I bought 5 lbs of them at Costco yesterday, I made one of my old favorites for dinner 🙂  Behold, Spinach and Mushroom couscous.  I’ve been making this for years, although this is the first time i’ve used pearl couscous.

  2 tsp olive oil   
  1 clove(s) garlic clove(s), minced (medium)   
  5 oz portobello mushroom(s), stems removed, coarsely chopped   
  2 cup(s) spinach, fresh, stems removed   
  1/2 tsp dried oregano   
  1 1/3 cup(s) uncooked couscous   
  2 cup(s) water   
  4 oz reduced-fat feta cheese   

Instructions

Heat oil and garlic in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add mushrooms and cook 1 minute.

Add remaining ingredients, except cheese, and bring to a boil; cover and remove from heat. Let stand for 5 minutes; fluff with a fork and sprinkle with cheese. Yields about 1/2 cup per serving.

4 Points+ per serving. 

Went meatless for dinner tonight, had thawed some fish to eat with this, but wasn’t feeling it. (probably because my snack was a large and filling-cottage cheese bowl with nuts, apples, handful of granola).

 Had roasted veggies, tortilla, hummus, and my mushroom spinach couscous.

6 thoughts on “Fuzzy kind of day

    • the dangerous part is that it’s between the gym and the house. Good thing is it’s somewhat healthy. It may be my new “emergency” dinner, lol!

      Usually if I need something quick, I just eat grilled cheese or pasta, lol

Leave a Reply

