Thoughtful Tuesday

FOOD

Ready for some super craptastic photos by my Blackberry?

Once a month a group of people at work are assigned to bring breakfast for a monthly section meeting for about 30 people.  Today was my group’s turn.  Last time we did this elaborate Fiesta theme and the 6 of us spent close to $300!  OUCH!  You should have seen the fruit tray I did though, it was like something straight out of an awesome paletera. 

This go round, we all wanted to do something less involved, low key, and healthier.  I suggested a DIY oatmeal bar, which evolved into a whole DIY theme with fun stuff.  Oatmeal and toast stations with all of the fixings, cocoa station, then juices, milks, and fruit.  FUN!

Some people looked at it strange but it got RAVE reviews afterwards!  Score one for me and my awesome idea.  I had quite a few people thank me for doing something different.  In my section we have 2 diabetics, 4 people on Weight Watchers, 2 vegetarians, and 1 Celiac (and those are only the ones I know of, because most don’t speak up).  I feel like I am always the one that has to point out that we have to think about others.  I try to be considerate, especially since I know how it feels for someone to only think about what’s cheap and easy and not what people can and can’t have or would like to have.  I HATE when work functions are nothing but donuts or whatever is available at the supermarket bakery or from a drive-thru.

 

There was a 2nd table with the drinks and cocoa bar but I neglected to get a decent photo of it.  And those are no pudge brownies, 2 different kinds.  I’m not wild about them, but it seems everyone else was!

Still digging my vegetable-bulgur soup that I made on Sunday with my turkey stock.  Been enjoying it for lunches with half a sandwich (cracked pepper turkey breast with spicy mustard on Ezekiel).  Spiced apples and cottage cheese for dessert.

Lol. Yes, as I admitted the other day on a poll by Heather, I keep EVOO in my desk.  Got these cute little sample size bottles from Star at RNR SA expo last year.  Great for getting those healthy oils in, even when you are at work!

Hope this “all fruits are free” thing on WW doesn’t bite me in the butt literally.  I love fruit and I know I didn’t get fat eating fruit, but still.

Dinner:  Baked red potatoes with EVOO and spices, italian mixed veggies, and Pretzel Chicken Poupon.   We both liked it.

6 Tbsp. GREY POUPON Dijon Mustard, divided
6 Tbsp.  KRAFT Ranch Dressing, divided
1/2 cup finely crushed unsalted pretzels
2 Tbsp.  minced onion
2 Tbsp. chopped fresh parsley
1/4 tsp.  salt
1/4 tsp. pepper
4 small  boneless skinless chicken breast halves (1 lb.)
 
PREHEAT oven to 400°F. Blend 5 Tbsp. of the mustard and 1 Tbsp. of the dressing in shallow dish. Mix pretzel crumbs, onion, parsley, salt and pepper in separate shallow dish.

DIP chicken in mustard mixture, then in pretzel mixture, turning over to evenly coat both sides. Place on greased baking sheet.

BAKE 25 minutes or until chicken is cooked through. Mix remaining 1 Tbsp. mustard and remaining 5 Tbsp. dressing; serve spooned over chicken.

SOURCE:  KRAFT

NOTES: I used garlic powder in addition to the ingredients for the coating.  Light Ranch Dressing.  With the type of pretzels and ranch dressing I used this ended up being 4 PointsPlus on the new WW program.

4 thoughts on “Thoughtful Tuesday

Leave a Reply

