Recipes: Turkey Day Grub

Thanksgiving 2010

Smoked turkey~2 ways

Southern turkey gravy

Bateman family stuffing

Roasted Fall Vegetables

Green bean-corn casserole

Mashed potatoes

Dinner Rolls

Multigrain Baguettes

Cranberry-pecan relish

Pecan Pie

Pumpkin Praline Cake 

I included serving sizes and WW points for everything, just in case you care.  The menu wasn’t planned to be low point, but in moderation, it’s actually pretty reasonable if you pay attention to serving sizes.

The recipes:

Bateman Corn Bread Dressing (small batch, makes a 9×13) 

~12 servings at 3 WW pts each

-9 inch round pan of cornbread made with 3 eggs

-8 oz herb stuffing mix

-3 buttermilk biscuits

-1 tsp sage

-1 tsp poultry seasoning

-2 large onions

-salt and pepper to taste

-turkey or chicken stock (buy turkey wings to make stock if you need to)

Crumble cornbread in large pan, add biscuits and herb stuffing pieces.  Mix together, add seasonings and onions, mix well with your hands.  Add enough hot stock to moisten, salt and pepper to taste.  (Usually done on Sunday, put in a sealed container in fridge).

Thankgiving morning take out of fridge and come to room temperature.  When ready to bake, add more hot stock to make a soupy consistency, then bake for 1 hour at 425 degreees until browned.

~~~~~~

Green Bean-Corn Casserole

~3 servings at 3 WW pts each (if you make my modifications and reduce the cheddar to 1/2 cup)

-2 cans French style green beans-drained

-1 can corn-drained

-1 can cream of celery soup

-1 cup sour cream (I use FF)

-1/2 cup finely chopped onion

-1/2 cup finely chopped bell pepper

-1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese (I used RF)

-1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

-1 t salt

-1/2 t celery salt

-1/2 t pepper

-1 row Ritz crackers (I used regular, there isn’t much difference in RF and full fat)

 Mix together in a large bowl:  soup, sour cream, onion, bell pepper, cheese, salt and pepper.  Stir in drained vegetables.  Bake in a 9×13 pan at 350 for 30 minutes.  Take out and top with crushed crackers and bake for 15 more minutes.

*I cook it in the crockpot on low Thanksgiving morning to have 1 less thing in the oven rotation.  Then before serving, I transfer to a dish, add Ritz, and broil to toast the crackers.

This is a Bateman recipe, but my family has come to love it as well. Great for work holiday parties, very easy.  I made it for work party last year and kept it in the crockpot, took the Ritz’s already browned and added them before serving.

~~~~~

Keller Cranberry Relish

~10 servings at 1 WW point each, if you use 1/4 cup pecans and use Splenda or very little sugar.

-1 bag cranberries (chopped in food processor)

-1 orange (peeled, chopped in small pieces)

-4 T crushed pineapple

-1/4-1/2 cup chopped pecans

-sugar or other sweetener to taste

Combine and put in fridge.  It tastes better if it has at least a day to set.  If you want to do jello, just add the ingredients to a batch of mixed cherry jello and chill in a bowl or mold.

*This is traditionally molded in jello.  I prefer it as relish-type.   Also a recipe redo, the original recipe has way more pecans and sugar.  Last few years I used Splenda, this year I went back to regular sugar, but small amount.

My absolutely FAVORITE leftover.  I will eat it in pancakes, greek yogurt, oatmeal, etc.  Plain is pretty awesome too 😉  For a twist, try a Gala apple instead of the pineapple, that’s the way my good friend Alison makes her family’s version, equally delish!

~~~~~

Roasted Vegetables~recipe made as written (see link above for recipe)

~~~~~ 

Pumpkin Praline Cake-(see link above for recipe)

*Applesauce instead of oil, egg beaters instead of eggs, reduced fat cream cheese (I HATE FF cream cheese), FF Whipped Topping, FF caramel topping,  FF milk, all natural yellow cake mix (from Sprouts).  I actually skipped powdered sugar because I forgot to buy some and I must have ran out because I always have baking staples in the pantry.  The icing was almost sweet enough without it and it was already thick enough, so I added a little Truvia to get the sweet right.  I toasted the pecans before adding them to the cake.

The cake was a huge success and was great!  I had to freeze a few slices before the rest was devoured, so I could enjoy it later on.   Makes 16 servings, 5 WW pts with my modifications.  I’m not usually a fan of most FF products (other than milk and yogurt), but in this cake, it worked well.

3 thoughts on “Recipes: Turkey Day Grub

  1. Wow it looks like you guys had such a wonderful time on Thanksgiving day. Everything looks so delicious. I especially love Keller Cranberry relish and I must try it 🙂

  2. Pingback: melissa dishes

Leave a Reply

