Finally Friday

FUN aka Date Night

Well Thursday turned around after work.  Dan’s flight landed around 4:30 and he drove up to meet me at Jason’s Deli.  We hadn’t eaten at Jason’s in FOREVER.  I had the salad bar with a giant salad.  I hope that raw veggies aren’t something i’m going to have to eliminate (it’s a trigger for some people with GI issues).  It was a pretty rockin salad if I do say so, and i’m not a huge salad person.  The kind of salad I can make at a salad bar like that, is one I can eat and it actually keep me full.   Most restaurant salads are hit or miss with keeping me full, so I don’t usually get them as an entrée unless it’s a hearty salad with more than lettuce and chicken.

The main reason we met in that area was to go to Alamo Drafthouse for the last day of the Austin Film Festival.  We didn’t get fest passes, but chose to wait for general admission to open up because it was like $200 cheaper, lol!  And afterall, we only wanted to see one film….

It was pretty flippin fabulous.  It’s very interesting and great insight into the history and the future of the Drive By Truckers.  We both LOVED it. 

We didn’t eat at Alamo, because I don’t really care for their food, Jason’s was way better and probably cheaper too.

Too bad we came home in the 8th inning of a train wreck on tv 😦    I went to bed, I couldn’t bear it anymore.  But like my co-worker said, just wait til they have some “home” cooking Saturday night.  Still love my Rangers, but it’s hard to see them lose!

FOOD

Ate lunch with my sister today, because I didn’t bring lunch (because I was supposed to be at a hearing downtown, which got canceled AFTER I got to work).  Jason’s Deli again, even bigger salad.   I didn’t get enough of the salad the night before, hehe.   Brought part home with me to eat with dinner.

Dinner was dijon artichoke pasta from that same Cooking Light book that I saved from my garage sale discards. 

DIJON ARTICHOKE PASTA

8  ounces  linguine, uncooked (I used whole wheat)

1  (10 3/4-ounce) can reduced-fat, reduced-sodium cream of mushroom soup

1/3  cup  evaporated skimmed milk (I used fat free)

1/3  cup  dry white wine

2  tablespoons  Dijon mustard

1  (14 1/4-ounce) can quartered artichoke hearts, drained

1  (4-ounce) can sliced mushrooms, drained (I used cooked fresh)

1/4  cup  freshly grated Parmesan cheese

1/4  cup  sliced green onion (about 1 large)

1          tablespoon  chopped ripe olives

Freshly ground pepper

Preparation

Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain.

While pasta cooks, combine soup and next 3 ingredients in a microwave-safe bowl. Microwave at HIGH 3 minutes, stirring once. Add artichokes and mushrooms. Microwave at HIGH 2 minutes or until thoroughly heated, stirring once.

Toss artichoke mixture with pasta. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and remaining 3 ingredients. Serve immediately.

Calories:341, Fat: 5.4g, Protein: 13.7g, Fiber: 2.9g

Served with that leftover Jason’s Deli salad mix, and a sandwich thin made into garlic toast.

Dessert was spiced cottage cheese with baked apple and carrots.  Yes, for some reason I was compelled to add cooked carrots and it was tasty.

LIFE

Long weekend ahead.  Run tomorrow.  Race committee planning meeting.  Drive to SA for friend’s annual birthday/Halloween theme party.  Come back Sunday morning and prepare for the week AND Dan’s parents arrival a week from today.  EEK!

Have a great weekend!

One thought on “Finally Friday

Leave a Reply

