Wind-down Wednesday

Well a wind-down Wednesday was the plan…didn’t really follow it though.

RUN

Got to sleep in by about an hour, since my test was this morning.  I ran 4 this morning and once again, it was harder than it should have been.  I’m going to keep resting and trying to detox from the medicine.  I always have a bad short run before a really long training run, just not used to having two.  And in a row.  Not good mentally or physically.

If push comes to shove, I will skip Saturday’s long.

 

LIFE

 The CT scan wasn’t bad, but my arm still hurts pretty bad where I had the IV.  The tech did say that my body wasn’t really cooperating as well as they’d like, because the contrast didn’t really reach the area they needed to look at.  Of course, my body hasn’t cooperated through any tests yet.  Nice.

Even though I am hammered at work, I made the decision after my test, I needed a DOR from work and stress.  So I went home (well I decided this about half way to the office).  And then I was my normal self and DIDN’T REST.  I cleaned house, washed dishes, and was on my feet pretty much the first several hours.  I felt so badly for being down and out over the weekend after taking that medicine and not getting my chores done, that attempted to do it all today.  Eventually I tried to nap a few times, but unsuccessfully 😦

FOOD

 Santa needs to bring me a new camera.  That or maybe I shouldn’t have Ebay’d my nice one.

Breakfast:  The last of the Lebanese Wrap (which was supposed to be lunch).  I was hungry at 10 am when I finally allowed to eat breakfast.  I guess my real breakfast was technically a barium shake, 3 times.  GROSS.

 

Lunch:  Pizza.  Lots of veggies, some cheese, a little sauce, and some HEB brand poblano chicken sausage that I got on special last week.  I like their chicken sausage links, they are pretty tasty.  So far we’ve tried the poblano-cheese, fajita, and the andouille (they are roughly 4 pts a link if you are wondering).  All piled up on a whole wheat crust (that I didn’t make) and cooked on my stone.   It looks alot smaller than it was, it’s the size of a personal pizza.  Yes, I finally reacquainted myself with my pizza stone, which is 1 of 2 stones I have, but rarely use.  Note to self….use the stone more!

 

Snacks:  roasted butternut squash with sweet cottage cheese.  Toast with Barney Butter (which I REALLY wish I could buy around here, I bought that jar at Fresh Market in FL). 

Dinner:  Super stoked to have a repeat of Tuesday night.  Cheeseburger meatloaf, crash hot potatoes, salad, and green beans.  (forgive the crummy photo and the fact I added extra ketchup to my pretty meatloaf before I took it)

Recipes below…

 Crash Hot Potatoes

12-15 baby red potatoes
1 tbsp olive oil (or more if you wish)
kosher salt and fresh cracked pepper

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees (PW said 450 but I used 400). Boil the potatoes for 10-15 minutes or until fork tender. Place on a cooking sheet coated with cooking spray or drizzled with olive oil. Place the potatoes on the baking sheet and with a potato masher, gently smash each potato. Drizzle with olive oil, sea salt and pepper (add a bit of your favorite dry herbs if you like).

Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes or until crisp and golden brown.

 

Source:  Jill Dupleix via Pioneer Woman via Meg

 

* NI not too hard to figure out the values, since it’s a pretty simple recipe and it depends on your potato size and how much oil you drizzle.  This time we actually used regular size red potatoes.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Cheeseburger Meat Loaves

 

¾ pound extra lean ground beef (I used 1 lb instead)

1 cup crushed saltine crackers (I used oats instead)

¾ cup finely chopped onion

½ cup finely chopped green bell pepper

1 T Worcestershire sauce

2 egg whites

½ teaspoon minced garlic

2 cheese singles (quartered)

3 T ketchup

 

Combine first 7 ingredients in large bowl, mix well.  Divide meat into 4 equal portions.  Shape each portion around 2 pieces of cheese, forming a small loaf

 

Place loaves in shallow pan coated with cooking spray.  Brush loaves with ketchup.  Bake at 350 for 30 minutes or until done.

 

*I increased everything slightly, because I wanted 5 servings out of the 1 lb of meat I had.  I didn’t want to have a random quarter pound of meat sitting in my fridge that I didn’t have plans for, plus I figured Dan would eat the extra one.  We both liked this one a lot and it was quick and easy.  He added jalapenos, ketchup, and mustard to his, to make it more “cheeseburger” like. 

And big props to Dan for being an awesome soux chef and having the onion and bell pepper expertly chopped for me when I got home from my run.  I will say, he may be slow, but he’s SO good at doing food prep for me before or while I cook, just wish I could get him to do it more often.

 

Yields 4 servings.

 Cal: 220, Fat 4.5, Protein: 25.2, Carb. 17.5, Fiber .8 .  ~5 WW pts

Source:  Cooking Light.  Low-Fat, Low-Calorie Quick and Easy Cookbook

 

2 thoughts on “Wind-down Wednesday

  1. Sorry the running isn’t going smoothly. I’ve definitely had some runs back-to-back that just flat out sucked. Maybe it’s partially stress related? You’re tired, stressed, tense? I never seem to be able to just take a true rest day unless I’m so sick I can’t move.

    • i’m pretty sure it’s all directly related to that stupid medicine I started on Friday, that’s when it all started going downhill.

      Taking it easy until Saturday, going to see if things improve

Leave a Reply

