Monday, Monday

RUN

The plan was for cross after work.  Maybe some stairmill action.  I had a rough day and could barely even drive home because I was so run-down.  I opted for rest instead.

LIFE

Keeps going downhill with the meds, calling Dr. tomorrow to ask him to take me off.  I’ve progressed to lethargy and flu-like symptoms, which are apparently not listed in the drug materials, but in patient’s reviews all over the internet 😦   Meds honestly haven’t done much yet and the side effects are killing me.  I can’t function like this all week at work and I need to get sleep.  Plus I have an important training run on Saturday and then my dad’s 60th birthday surprise Sun-Tue.

CT scan scheduled for Wednesday morning.  YUCK. 

I’ve decided no more whining or dwelling on this anymore.  Maybe an update if they ever decide what’s wrong or what to do…

FOOD

My mom had a garage sale this past weekend.  On my way through town last week, I dumped about 20 cookbooks at her house that I was getting rid of.  In the middle of pricing them, I took 2 back with me 😉  Glad I saved this one (Cooking Light, Low-Fat, Low-Cal).  It was a Half-Price books find like 2 years ago and I guess I never really tried much out of it.  I used to have a mild addiction to cookbooks, that was before I was a blog reader, lol!  We’re trying about 6 new things out of it in the next 2 weeks. 

No photos today, because I suck.  My camera is in my gym bag for some reason, which I left at work.  Neither one of those statements makes sense.  Maybe the meds confuse me too, lol!

Monday’s lunch was Lebanese Wraps.  It’s actually not from the CL but rather from the Full Plate Diet book that I was given to review before it was published.  The recipe has promise, but needs some tweaking.  I may add some cottage cheese to it tomorrow with additional veggies.  Looks like they list most of the recipes on that website.  I have a few more marked to try at some point. 

Speaking of cottage cheese.  I decided that roasted butternut squash and sweet cottage cheese makes a nice snack or dessert 🙂  Yeah, i’m strange. 

Tonight we tried this recipe from the CL book.  IT.WAS.AWESOME.  I halved it, because I hate fish leftover or reheated.

Pecan Crusted Flounder

  • 1 slice(s) bread, whole-wheat, torn
  • 3 tablespoon nuts, pecans, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon creole seasoning, salt-free
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 pounds fish, flounder, 4 (4-ounce) fillets  (I actually used tilapia)
  • cooking spray, butter-flavored
  • 2 tablespoon mayonnaise, nonfat
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice

1. Position knife blade in food processor bowl; add first 4 ingredients. Process until mixture resembles crumbs. Set aside.

2. Place fish on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Combine mayonnaise and lemon juice. Brush mayonnaise mixture over top of fish. Sprinkle fish evenly with crumb mixture, and coat lightly with cooking spray. Bake at 450° for 15 minutes or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork.

Yield: 4 servings.

Nutritional Info (Per serving):

Calories: 167, Saturated Fat: 0.5g, Sodium: 371mg, Dietary Fiber: 0.5g, Total Fat: 5.5g, Carbs: 6g, Cholesterol: 55mg, Protein: 22.5g

SOURCE:  Cooking Light:  Low-Fat Low-Calorie Quick and Easy Cookbook

2 thoughts on “Monday, Monday

    • Thanks Heather, I appreciate the well wishes.
      I feel alot better today, but I have room for improvement. Coming off the new meds, going back to old ones.

      I feel like such a freak of nature

Leave a Reply

