Grub and the grove

RUN

Gym first thing in the morning before work for some weights.  I’ve really been trying to stay consisent with weights and have done a pretty good job since January doing Su, Tu, Th.  Last week was the exception with being out of town both weekends and having a holiday, only got 1 day done and I felt really crummy about it.  This week I bounced right back into it, like I never even missed 2 days in the previous week.

Because I had plans after work, no run for the evening.  I wanted to try to run at the lake, since we’d be down there, but my sister said it was too hot (she was right).  So I did the run-trainer at the gym while I waited for her to get off of work, then grabbed a super quick shower, and rushed over to her house to pick her up.

FOOD

We made it down to Shady Grove at about 6:20.  Traffic wasn’t too bad at all.  No seats left for the show, so we put our blanket down on one of the only spots left.   We then walked 5 blocks to Lamar to go to the newest location of Spicy Pickle, one of my favorite restaurants.   We don’t go there often, usually only when Stacey and I are together.  Dan doesn’t love it and the DB hates it. 

Anyhow, I had a giant ice tea and I feasted on this:

That is by far the biggest pickle I’ve ever gotten there!  They are SO good 🙂  This is half the Bastille panini and I also had their veggie soup which I adore.   SP lists all of their NI online, so you can figure out the stats on anything!  For the sandwich and my soup, 9 pts. (probably lower, because I get the sauce on the side and add it myself).  Not bad for a meal out.  There are quite a few friendly choices there, but I LOVE this one.   They have several locations in Austin and putting some in Houston.  They have locations in several other states as well.

FUN

Walked back to Shady Grove, to find the place swarming with people!  We’d only been gone 30 minutes and now the place was overflowing everywhere.  Glad we got back when we did, because rude people were in abundance last night and moving people’s stuff, unruly kids, etc.  Hayes went on 15 minutes late.  Because of location, we were super close but couldn’t see anything 😦 I love me some Hayes, but besides the crowd being way different from the usual there (usually very laid back and casual), the show just wasn’t that great.  Just kind of blah.  I left disappointed.  I love Hayes and I love SG, but something was off 😦 

Went back north, dropped sister off, and stayed up later than normal.  Today is a DOR, so I could sleep in a bit.  I didn’t, because I made a Blueberry Coffee Cake for work because I couldn’t sleep past 5.  Saw the recipe yesterday and have fresh berries on hand, so gave it a shot.  I don’t really bake, because it’s a trigger, but I thought that bringing it to work would be nice and I could still have a slice.  Brought it to work, still warm, and it FLEW out of the breakroom!  Glad I ate my slice first!

Whole Wheat Blueberry Coffee Cake

1 cup whole wheat flour
1/3 cup sugar
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries (I had fresh for once!)
2/3 cup skim milk
1 egg
1.5 Tbsp canola oil
1 tsp vanilla
2 Tbsp pecans, chopped
2 Tbsp brown sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon

– Preheat oven to 350 and grease/spray 8×8 pan.
– In large bowl, mix flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and baking soda.
– Toss 2/3 cup blueberries in the flour mixture.
– In separate bowl, whisk milk, oil, egg, and vanilla.
– Add milk mixture to dry ingredients and stir until combined.
– Pour into baking dish.
– Sprinkle remaining 1/3 cup blueberries on top.
– Mix pecans, brown sugar, and cinnamon together and sprinkle over top.
– Bake at 350 for 35 minutes.

9 servings, 3 WW pts a serving.

Leave a Reply

