Happy 4th of July weekend!

Life

I swear I am going to get better at this blogging thing.  Between time and being a technology ruh-tard, it’s a challenge for sure.  Long week at work.  Started off with me getting to work early and leaving super late on Monday.  I don’t usually work more than I have to, mostly because I usually am not allowed, which is fine by me.  However, Monday was a special case.  But so be it, was well worth my efforts, the bosses were happy and all was good.

It rained all week.  I know many people didn’t like it.  I LOVED it.  It allowed the temps to be less than 100 degrees and I was able to run after work TWICE this week.  One of the runs was in the pouring rain, which this time of year, I love!  I haven’t run on my way home from work in months because of the heat.   Now the rains are gone and it feels like a sauna, but i’m ok with that.  Not really looking forward to attempting to mow our lawn on Monday, especially since it rained last Monday, so it’s been 2 weeks and 4 inches of rain later!

Fun

Didn’t feel like getting hammered with rain on Thursday at Shady Grove for BOH, so we skipped it.  Did Radney Foster at Gruene Hall last night.  It was wonderful, he’s always good.  Rosehill, the opener, was pretty good too.  Radney produced their last album, so if he thinks highly of them, you know they must be something.

Stuff around house today, then tubing and BOH and Bingham tomorrow night.  Monday will be a catch-up recovery day.  🙂   I think i’ll be trying out my new bathing suit.  A little nervous about it, but I’m sure it will be fine.  Maybe i’ll feel better about it once I get it on and get out there.  The last 2 times we tubed, I wore a 1 piece and felt very out of place.  We’ll see how this goes.

Run

Just my regular maintenance miles schedule, which is pretty effortless.  Did 6.5 of hills today instead of 8  trail at the Lake (wasn’t sure if it was under water).  Didn’t help that I started at 9 am.  Yes, 9 am.  I cannot remember the last time I ran that late, but I didn’t get to bed til 2, so earlier wasn’t an option and I was still really tired, but I couldn’t sleep past 6:30.   I spent an hour trying to decide what to even do this morning, because my legs felt dead and I was still tired.    So Grand Mesa is what I decided on.  Really should have taken some G2 or something with me, holy humidity!   I finished it with a decent pace for what it was.  What I did is run the hill route, from my house, but backwards.  I THOUGHT that would make it easier.  WRONG.  I totally forgot how many short sharp hills I am usually going down, which made them ups today.  I only thought I was tired before that!

Marathon training starts July 12.  Well the schedule starts then, I am already at that base, which is what my plan was, so i’m golden.

Just in case you are wondering, the Sports Authority shoe warrant IS a good deal.  I sent them my old Kayano’s last week, got a $130 gift card in the mail yesterday.  Only cost me $5 to mail my shoes and the $10 for the warranty.  Hopefully it works that well all of the time.  If that’s the case, I will only buy shoes from them!

HAVE A WONDERFUL HOLIDAY!  Will try to update on Monday after our river adventures!

Leave a Reply

